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1.0 POLICY

The Montana Youth Court Act provides for cost recovery of services provided to youth and parents through the Youth Courts. This policy provides parameters for the collection, disbursement and waiver of fees and fines related to Youth Court services. 

2.0 DEFINITIONS

2.1
“Fee for service” is a fee for providing a specific service such as drug tests, electronic monitoring or community service. 

2.2
“Supervision fee” is a fee assessed by Youth Court to provide services to a juvenile under the jurisdiction of the Youth Court. 

2.3
“Fine” is a penalty for an offense ordered by a Youth Court judge.    


2.4
“Restitution” is repayment to a victim as agreed to in a consent adjustment or as ordered in a consent decree or other court order. 

3.0 
Procedure

All money collected for fees and restitution must be collected in compliance with state accounting and budgeting procedures.  Fees and restitution must be collected and disbursed by the Youth Court office in compliance with standard accounting practices. In addition to standard accounting practices, each Youth Court office must:

3.1 Work with the Office of Court Administrator (OCA) accounting staff to maintain appropriate accounts;

3.2 Issue receipts for any payments received;
3.3 Post a notice in the collection area noting that a receipt must be issued for any payment received; and
3.4 Comply with the Juvenile Court Assessment and Tracking System (JCATS) accounting procedures and other accounting practices as established by the OCA. 

4.0
RESTITUTION 

Restitution is the highest priority in collections from juveniles. The process for collecting restitution is as follows:

4.1
Restitution must be collected as set forth in a consent adjustment or formal                                                                       court order.

4.2 When a juvenile makes a restitution payment, he/she must receive a receipt from the Youth Court office. The payment must be deposited in a state account established through the OCA. 

4.3 The Youth Court office must maintain restitution amounts and victim information on the JCATS.  Checks to victims must be paid at least once a month on a regular schedule. 

4.4      Deposits into the account must be made whenever the accumulated cash exceeds $100 or total collection (cash, check and money orders combined) exceeds $500.  A deposit must be made at least weekly even if total collections are under $500.

5.0     FEES FOR SERVICES
5.1
If a juvenile is subjected to drug testing, community service, or post-disposition electronic monitoring, it is recommended that the following fees be imposed on the juvenile and/or parent or guardian to help offset the cost associated with these services:  
5.1.1
 A drug testing fee pursuant to Montana Judicial Branch Policy No.1260, Youth Drug Testing;

5.1.2
A community service fee of $.50 per hour of assigned community service if the Judicial Branch is paying the cost of the workers’ compensation insurance covering the juvenile; and 
         5.1.3. 
A fee for post-disposition electronic monitoring that covers the cost of this service.  

5.2
In addition to the fees for services described in subsection 5.1, a Youth Court judge or juvenile probation officer may impose fees for other services provided to a juvenile to cover the cost of the services in accordance with Title 41, chapter 5, MCA.


5.3
In determining whether to impose a fee for service, a juvenile probation officer may consider if the juvenile’s family is receiving or is eligible to receive services through a public assistance program, such as a free or reduced school lunch program, Medicaid, or the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP).  A juvenile probation officer may not waive a fee ordered by a Youth Court judge.
5.4
Fees collected under this section must be deposited into a state special revenue account maintained by the OCA and used to offset the costs of the Youth Courts.

6.0     SUPERVISION FEES
A Youth Court may establish standard fees for supervision for youth placed on formal or informal probation. 
6.1 If a Youth Court establishes standard supervision fees, the fees must be imposed on all juveniles unless waived by the judge if the juvenile is on formal probation or by the juvenile probation officer if the juvenile is on informal probation. The fees must be included in the consent adjustment or court order.
6.2 Supervision fees must be collected and administered in compliance with all state accounting practices.

6.3 Supervision fees must be deposited into a state special revenue account and used to offset costs within that Youth Court office.  

7.0 FINES
7.1
Only a Youth Court judge may order a fine.  A juvenile probation office may not assess a fine.

7.2  
If a judge orders a fine, the fine must be paid to the clerk of district court and deposited in accordance with state law.  

8.0  AUTHORITIES
Title 41, chapter 5, MCA
9.0      CLOSING


9.1
Level of Training Required: Judges, youth court staff and court administrators involved in the setting and collection of fines and fees in the youth court. 

9.2 Questions concerning this policy should be directed to the OCA, Montana Supreme Court.
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