MONTANA SUPREME COURT PUBLIC MEETING MINUTES

Tuesday, May 20, 2025, 1:15 p.m. Joseph P. Mazurek Justice Building 215 N. Sanders, Helena Attorney's Lounge, 4th Floor

Chief Justice Swanson called the meeting to order at 1:17 p.m. In attendance were the Chief Justice and Justices Baker, Bidegaray, Rice, and Shea. Justice Gustafson attended via Zoom.

Also in attendance were Bowen Greenwood, Clerk of Court; Jeanine Blaner, Supreme Court Staff Attorney; Kathleen Androlewicz, Electronic Services Coordinator; Paul Dougherty, Law Clerk; and Rachel Parker, Law Clerk.

Item 1: Approval of Minutes from April 1, 2024, Public Meeting

• The Justices unanimously approved the minutes from the last public meeting.

Item 2: AF 16-0288 Appointments to the Drug Treatment Court Advisory Committee

- Hon. Heidi J. Ulbricht, Hon. Mary Jane Knisely, Hon. John C. Brown, Hon. Olivia Rieger, and Hon. Brenda R. Gilbert are reappointed for three-year terms expiring May 30, 2028.
- Hon. Christopher D. Abbott is appointed to replace Hon. Matthew Cuffe, and Hon. John Kutzman is appointed to replace Hon. John W. Larson for three-year terms expiring May 30, 2028.
- The Justices unanimously approved the appointments.

Item 3: AF 11-0765 Appointments to the Access to Justice Commission

- Katy Lovell and Laura Smith resigned their positions on the Access to Justice Commission. Gretchen Hall is appointed to the Access to Justice Commission as a representative from the Department of Health and Human Services Aging Services Bureau for the remainder of the three-year term ending September 30, 2025, and Representative Alanah Griffith is appointed to the Access to Justice Commission as a member of the House of Representatives for the remainder of the three-year term ending September 30, 2026.
- The Justices unanimously approved the appointments.

Item 4: AF 06-0216 Appointments to the Commission on Technology

- Hon. Audrey Barger is reappointed to the Commission on Technology as the Limited Jurisdiction Judge member for a term expiring on October 31, 2027.
- The Justices unanimously approved the appointment.

There was no public question or comment.

The Chief Justice concluded the meeting at 1:25 p.m.