## MONTANA SUPREME COURT PUBLIC MEETING MINUTES

Tuesday, April 1, 2025, 1:15 p.m.
Joseph P. Mazurek Justice Building
215 N. Sanders, Helena
Attorney's Lounge, 4th Floor

Chief Justice Swanson called the meeting to order at 1:15 p.m. In attendance were the Chief Justice and Justices Baker, Shea, and Bidegaray. Justices McKinnon and Gustafson attended via Zoom.

Also in attendance were Bowen Greenwood, Clerk of Court; Jeanine Blaner, Supreme Court Staff Attorney; Kathleen Androlewicz, Electronic Services Coordinator; Paul Dougherty, Law Clerk; and Rachel Parker, Law Clerk. Brad Belke, Mick Taleff, and Shelly Smith attended via Zoom.

## Item 1: Approval of Minutes from December 10, 2024, Public Meeting

• The Justices unanimously approved the minutes from the last public meeting.

## **Item 2: Appointments to the Commission on Practice**

- Elections were previously held to appoint members of the Commission on Practice for Area C and Area E. Brad Belke and Dan O'Brien received the most votes of their respective areas. Belke was appointed as member for Area C and O'Brien was appointed as member for Area E. Belke and O'Brien will serve four-year terms expiring on April 1, 2029.
- The Justices unanimously approved the appointments.

## **Item 3: Appointments to the Judicial Education Committee**

- The Chief Justice acknowledged that the State Bar of Montana reappointed Brian Smith as State Bar representative member of the Judicial Education Committee. The Dean of the Alexander Blewett III School of Law reappointed Professor Craig Cowie as faculty representative member of the Judicial Education Committee. Smith and Cowie will serve three-year terms expiring on December 31, 2027.
- The Justices unanimously approved acknowledging the appointments.

There was no public question or comment.

The Chief Justice concluded the meeting at 1:24 p.m.