```
SENATE BILL NO. 178
 1
 2
      INTRODUCED BY
 3
 4
      A BILL FOR AN ACT ENTITLED: "AN ACT REQUIRING THAT ELECTIONS FOR COUNTY AND MUNICIPAL
      OFFICES, EXCEPT ELECTIONS FOR COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, BE CONDUCTED ON A NONPARTISAN
 5
      BASIS; AND AMENDING SECTIONS 7-3-111, 7-3-112, 7-3-113, 7-3-114, 7-3-219, 7-3-314, 7-3-413, AND
 6
 7
      7-3-704, MCA."
 8
 9
      BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MONTANA:
10
11
             NEW SECTION. Section 1. Elections to be nonpartisan. Elections for all municipal offices provided
      for under this part must be conducted on a nonpartisan basis.
12
13
             Section 2. Section 7-3-111, MCA, is amended to read:
14
             "7-3-111. Statutory basis for elected county official government. (1) For the purpose of
15
16
      determining the statutory basis of existing units of local government after May 2, 1977, each unit of local
17
      government organized under the general statutes authorizing the elected county official form of
18
      government, shall be governed by the following sections govern:
             (a) 7-3-401;
19
20
             (b) 7-3-402;
             (c) 7-3-412(3);
21
22
             (d) 7-3-413<del>(1)</del>;
23
             (e) 7-3-414(1);
24
             (f) 7-3-415(2);
25
             (g) 7-3-416(2);
26
             (h) 7-3-417(2);
27
             (i) 7-3-418;
28
             (j) 7-3-432(1);
29
             (k) 7-3-433(1);
             (I) 7-3-434(1);
30
```



```
1
             (m) 7-3-435(1);
 2
             (n) 7-3-436(1);
 3
             (o) 7-3-437(1);
 4
             (p) 7-3-438(1);
 5
             (q) 7-3-439(1);
 6
             (r) 7-3-440(1);
 7
             (s) 7-3-441(1);
 8
             (t) 7-3-442(1) if the county has elected an auditor;
 9
             (u) 7-3-442(6) if the county has not elected an auditor.
10
             (2) This form has terms of 4 years for all elected officials, except commissioners, who are elected
      to 6-year terms. The commission consists of three members."
11
12
13
             Section 3. Section 7-3-112, MCA, is amended to read:
              "7-3-112. Statutory basis for county manager government. (1) For the purpose of determining the
14
      statutory basis of existing units of local government after May 2, 1977, each unit of local government
15
      organized under the general statutes authorizing the county manager form of government, shall be governed
16
17
      by the following sections govern:
18
             (a) 7-3-301;
19
              (b) 7-3-303;
20
             (c) 7-3-304;
21
             (d) 7-3-305;
22
             (e) 7-3-312(2);
23
             (f) 7-3-313(1) or (2);
24
             (g) 7-3-314<del>(2)</del>;
25
             (h) 7-3-315(1);
26
              (i) 7-3-316(2);
27
              (j) 7-3-317(2);
28
              (k) 7-3-318.
29
              (2) Commissioners are elected to 6-year terms. The size of the commission shall must be
30
      established by ordinance, but it may not exceed five members."
```