SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 28

1	JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 218
2	INTRODUCED BY THERE LANE SAIT DU Same
3	BY REQUEST OF THE SENATE AGRICULTURE,
4	LIVESTOCK, AND IRRIGATION COMMITTEE Buyglan
5	Typick
6	A JOINT RESOLUTION OF THE SENATE AND THE HOUSE OF
7	REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MONTANA REQUESTING THAT
8	LIVESTOCK GRAZING FEES CHARGED ON THE CHARLES M. RUSSELL
9	WILDLIFE REFUGE BE MAINTAINED AT THE CURRENT RATE.
0	
ı	WHEREAS, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is
2	proposing to increase grazing fees on the Charles M. Russell
3	Wildlife Refuge from \$4.61 to \$5.61 per animal unit month
4	(AUM) in 1985 and \$8.75 per AUM by 1987; and
5	WHEREAS, in 1980, the grazing fee on both land
6	administered by the Bureau of Land Management and on the
7	Charles M. Russell Wildlife Refuge was \$2.36 per AUM; and
8	WHEREAS, the grazing fee on land administered by the
9	Bureau of Land Management has since decreased to \$1.35 per
o	AUM, based on a formula that includes the cost of
ı	production, market price of beef, and a forage value index;
2	and
3	WHEREAS, the grazing fee on state lands is \$2.74 per
4	AUM, based on a formula that includes the market price of
5	beef; and

1	WHEREAS, in addition to the general plight o
2	agriculture resulting from low commodity prices, hig
3	production costs, and an agricultural credit crisis, th
4	Charles M. Russell Wildlife Refuge area is in the midst o
5	one of the most severe droughts in the history of the area
6	and
7	WHEREAS, maintaining the present grazing fee is on
8	small, relatively painless step the federal government ca
9	take to ease the current plight of the livestock industry
10	
11	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE AND THE HOUS
12	OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MONTANA:
13	That the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is requested to
14	maintain the current rate of grazing fees charged on the
15	Charles M. Russell Wildlife Refuge.
16	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Secretary of State
17	send a copy of this resolution to the manager of the Charles
18	M. Russell Wildlife Refuge, the Secretary of the Interior
19	and each member of Montana's Congressional Delegation.

-End-