HOUSE BILL NO. 102

1/07 Introduced

1/07 Referred to State Administration Died in Committee

Montana Legislative Council

1	HOUSE BILL NO. 102
2	INTRODUCED BY D. BROWN
3	
4	A BILL FOR AN ACT ENTITLED: "AN ACT PROVIDING THAT THE
5	ELECTION OF EACH MEMBER OF THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION BE
6	SUBMITTED TO THE ENTIRE ELECTORATE OF THE STATE; AMENDING
7	SECTIONS 69-1-103 AND 69-1-104, MCA."
8	
9	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MONTANA:
10	Section 1. Section 69-1-103, MCA, is amended to read:
11	"69-1-103. Composition of commission. The commission
12	shallconsist consists of five members, who shall-be are
13	qualified electors of thedistrictfromwhichtheyare
14	elected,witheachsuchmemberelectedfrom-a-separate
15	district-of the state and no more than one of whom is a
16	resident of any one of the public service commission
17	districts designated in 69-1-104. The election of each
18	member must be submitted to the entire electorate of the
19	state."
20	Section 2. Section 69-1-104, MCA, is amended to read:
21	"69-1-104. Public service commission districts. In
22	this state there are five public service commission
23	districts, with in each of which no more than one
24	commissioner elected-from-eachdistrict, may reside. The
25	districts are distributed as follows:

1	(1) first district: Blaine, Chouteau, Daniels, Dawson
2	Fergus, Garfield, Glacier, Golden Valley, Hill, Liberty
3	McCone, Musselshell, Petroleum, Phillips, Pondera, Prairie
4	Richland, Roosevelt, Sheridan, Toole, Valley, and Wibau
5	Counties;
6	(2) second district: Big Horn, Carbon, Carter, Custer
7	Fallon, Powder River, Rosebud, Stillwater, Sweetgrass
8	Treasure, and Yellowstone Counties;
9	(3) third district: Broadwater, Cascade, Jefferson,
10	Judith Basin, Lewis and Clark, Meagher, Teton, and Wheatland
11	Counties;
12	(4) fourth district: Beaverhead, Deer Lodge, Gallatin,
13	Granite, Madison, Park, Powell, Ravalli, and Silver Bow
14	Counties;
15	(5) fifth district: Flathead, Lake, Lincoln, Mineral,
16	Missoula, and Sanders Counties."

-End-

INTRODUCED BILL
-2- HB/02