SENATE BILL 219

IN THE SENATE

January 24, 1979	Introduced and referred to Committee on State Administration.
January 25, 1979	Fiscal note requested.
January 29, 1979	Fiscal note returned.
	Rereferred to Committee on Judiciary.
April 20, 1979	Died in Committee.

22

23

24 25 Counties;

Counties;

1	Senate BILL NO. 219
2	INTRODUCED BY Turnage
3	\emptyset
4	A BILL FOR AN ACT ENTITLED: "AN ACT TO CREATE A NEW
5	JUDICIAL DISTRICT BY SPLITTING THE 4TH DISTRICT INTO TWO
6	DISTRICTS CONSISTING OF MINERAL, SANDERS, AND LAKE COUNTIES
7	AND MISSOULA AND RAVALLE COUNTIES RESPECTIVELY; AMENDING
8	SECTION 3-5-101. MCA.*
9	
.0	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MONTANA:
.1	Section 1. Section 3-5-101, MCA, is amended to read:
.2	*3-5-101. Judicial districts defined. In this state
. 3	there are ±9 20 judicial districts, distributed as follows:
.4	(1) 1st district: Lewis and Clark and Broadwater
.5	Counties;
6	(2) 2nd district: Silver Bow County;
17	(3) 3rd district: Deer Lodge, Granite, and Powell
.8	Counties;
9	{4} 4th district: Missoula yMineralytakey <u>and</u>
0	Ravalli y-and-Sanders Countles;
21	(5) 5th district: Beaverhead, Jefferson, and Madison

(6) 6th district: Park and Sweet Grass Counties;

(7) 7th district: Dawson, McCone, Richland, and Wibaux

1	(o) oth district: tastage and thouteau counties;
2	(9) 9th district: Teton, Pondera, Toole, and Glacier
3	Counties;
4	(10) 10th district: Fergus, Judith Basin, and Petroleum
5	Counties;
ь	(11) 11th district: Flathead County;
7	(12) 12th district: Liberty, Hill, and Blaine Counties;
8	(13) 13th district: Yellowstone, Big Horn, Carbon,
9	Stillwater, and Treasure Counties;
10	(14) 14th district: Meagher, Wheatland, Golden Valley,
11	and Musselshell Counties;
12	(15) 15th district: Roosevelt, Daniels, and Sheridan
13	Counties;
14	(16) 16th district: Custer, Carter, Fallon, Prairie,
15	Powder River, Garfield, and Rosebud Counties;
16	(17) 17th district: Phillips and Valley Counties;
17	(18) 18th district: Gallatin County;
18	(19) 19th district: Lincoln County:
19	(201 20th district: Minerals Lakes and Sanders
20	Counties."
21	Section 2. Selection of new judge. The judges
22	currently serving in the 4th judicial district shall
23	complete their terms of office in that district whether or
24	not they meet the residency requirements of 3-5-202. The
25	judge in the 20th judicial district shall be elected in the

LC 0736/01

- 1 1980 general election and shall take office on the first
- 2 Monday of January, 1981.

-End-

STATE OF MONTANA

REQUEST NO. 118-79

FISCAL NOTE

Form BD-15

In compliance with a written request received <u>January 25</u>, 19 79, there is hereby submitted a Fiscal Note for <u>Senate Bill 219</u> pursuant to Chapter 53, Laws of Montana, 1965 - Thirty-Ninth Legislative Assembly. Background information used in developing this Fiscal Note is available from the Office of Budget and Program Planning, to members of the Legislature upon request.

DESCRIPTION OF PROPOSED LEGISLATION:

Senate Bill 219 would create a new Judicial District by splitting the 4th District into two districts. The 4th District would include Missoula and Ravalli Counties and the 20th District would include Mineral, Lake, and Sanders Counties.

FISCAL IMPACT:

Since there would not involve the addition of a new Judge the revenues and expenditures to the State would not be affected.

LOCAL IMPACT:

A judge will be moved from the 4th District to the 20th District. By doing this, costs would be increased by the 20th District and decreased in the 4th by the same amount.

BUDGET DIRECTOR

Office of Budget and Program Planning

Date: 1/19/75