LC 0927

Sente BILL NO. 228 1 INTRODUCED BY Pohent 2 3 Δ A SILL FOR AN ACT ENTITLED: "AN ACT AMENDING SECTION 5 93-301, R.C.M. 1947, TO CREATE THE NINETEENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT OF MONTANA; AND PROVIDING AN EFFECTIVE DATE." 6 7 8 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MONTANA: 9 Section 1. Section 93-301, R.C.M. 1947, is amended to 10 read as follows: 11 "93-301. Judicial districts defined. In this state there are eighteen nineteen (19) judicial districts, 12 13 distributed as follows: First district: Lewis and Clark and Broadwater 14 15 counties. 16 Second district: Silver Bow county. 17 Third district: Deer Lodge, Granite, and Powell 18 counties. 19 Fourth district: Missoula, Mineral, Lake, and Ravalli, 20 and-Sanders counties. 21 Fifth district: Beaverhead, Jefferson, and Madison 22 counties. 23 Sixth district: Park and Sweet Grass counties. 24 Seventh district: Dawson, McCone, Richland, and Wibaux 25 counties.

1 Eighth district: Cascade and Chouteau counties. 2 Ninth district: Teton, Pondera, Toole, and Glacier 3 counties. Tenth district: Fergus, Judith Basin, and Petroleum 4 counties. 5 6 Eleventh district: Flathead and---Hincoln---counties 7 county. 8 Twelfth district: Liberty, Hill, and Blaine counties. Thirteenth district: Yellowstone, Big Horn, Carbon, 9 10 Stillwater, and Treasure counties. Fourteenth district: Meagher, Wheatland, Golden Valley, 11 and Musselshell counties. 12 Fifteenth district: Roosevelt, Daniels, and Sheridan 13 counties. 14 15 Sixteenth district: Custer, Carter, Fallon, Prairie, 16 Powder River, Garfield, and Rosebud counties. 17 Seventeenth district: Phillips and Valley counties. 18 Eighteenth district: Gallatin county. Nineteenth district: Lincoln and Sanders counties." 19 20 Section 2. There is a new R.C.M. section that reads as follows: 21 22 Vacancy -- how filled. The vacancy in the office of 23 district judge of the nineteenth judicial district shall be filled according to the provisions of chapter 7, Title 93, 24 R.C.M. 1947. 25 -2- 5BEEC

INTRODUCED BILL

Section 3. This act shall not affect any case pending
before any court at the time of the effective date of this
act.
Section 4. This act shall be effective on January 1,

5 1976.

-End-

1



STATE OF MONTANA

REQUEST NO. 99-75

FISCAL NOTE

Form BD-15

In compliance with a written request received ____January 27_____, 19 75___, there is hereby submitted a Fiscal Note for _____Senate_Bill_228_______ pursuant to Chapter 53, Laws of Montana, 1965 - Thirty-Ninth Legislative Assembly. Background information used in developing this Fiscal Note is available from the Office of Budget and Program Planning, to members of the Legislature upon request.

DESCRIPTION OF PROPOSED LEGISLATION:

An act to create the Nineteenth Judicial District of Montana effective January 1, 1976.

ASSUMPTIONS:

1. An additional judge would be required at a salary of \$25,000 plus benefits.

2. Travel required would be the same as averaged by existing judges.

3. The judge will be appointed by the Governor to take office on January 1, 1976.

FISCAL IMPACT:

FISCAL IMPACT:	FY 76	FY 77
Increased personal services	\$ 14,250	\$ 28,500
Increased travel	900	1,800
Total increased expenditures	<u>\$ 15,150</u>	<u>\$ 30,300</u>

BUDGET DIRECTOR Office of Budget and Program Planning Date: ____ January 31, 1975

.

Approved by Committee

53 228

on Judiciary SENATE BILL NO. 223 1 1 Eighth district: Cascade and Chouteau counties. 2 INTRODUCED BY ROBERTS 2 Ninth district: Teton, Pondera, Toole, and Glacier 3 3 counties. A BILL FOR AN ACT ENTITLED: "AN ACT AMENDING SECTION 4 Tenth district: Fergus, Judith Basin, and Petroleum 4 93-301, R.C.M. 1947, TO CREATE THE NINETEENTH JUDICIAL 5 5 counties. DISTRICT OF MONTANA; AND PROVIDING AN EFFECTIVE DATE." 6 Eleventh district: Flathead and---bincoln---counties 6 7 7 county. BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MONTANA: 8 Twelfth district: Liberty, Hill, and Blaine counties. 3 9 Section 1. Section 93-301, R.C.M. 1947, is amended to Thirteenth district: Yellowstone, Big Horn, Carbon, 9 10 read as follows: 10 Stillwater, and Treasure counties. "93-301. Judicial districts defined. In this state 11 11 Fourteenth district: Meagher, Wheatland, Golden Valley, there are eighteen nineteen (19) judicial districts, 12 12 and Musselshell counties. distributed as follows: 13 13 Fifteenth district: Roosevelt, Daniels, and Sheridan First district: Lewis and Clark and Broadwater 14 counties. 14 15 counties. 15 Sixtéenth district: Custer, Carter, Fallon, Prairie, Second district: Silver Bow county. 16 16 Powder River, Garfield, and Rosebud counties. Third district: Deer Lodge, Granite, and Powell 17 . 17 Seventeenth district: Phillips and Valley counties. counties. 18 Eighteenth district: Gallatin county. 18 19 Nineteenth district: Lincoln and--Sanders---counties Fourth district: Missoula, Mineral, Lake, and Ravalli, 19 20 COUNTY." 20 AND SANDERS counties. 21 Section 2. There is a new R.C.M. section that reads as Fifth district: Beaverhead, Jefferson, and Madison 21 22 follows: counties. 22 Sixth district: Park and Sweet Grass counties. 23 Vacancy -- how filled. The vacancy in the office of 23 district judge of the nineteenth judicial district shall be 24 Seventh district: Dawson, McCone, Richland, and Wibaux 24 25 filled according to the provisions of chapter 7, Title 93, 25 counties. -2-

SECOND READING

SB 0228/02

R.C.M. 1947.
Section 3. This act shall not affect any case pending
before any court at the time of the effective date of this
act.
Section 4. This act shall be effective on January 1,
1976.

-End-

-3-

SB 228