44th Legislature LC 1230

1 2 3 4 A BILL FOR AN ACT ENTITLED: "AN ACT TO AMEND SECTION 16-2404, R.C.M. 1947, TO REMOVE THE STATUTORY REQUIREMENT 5 6 THAT THERE BE TWO CONSTABLES IN EVERY TOWNSHIP." 7 8 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MONTANA: 9 Section 1. Section 16-2404, R.C.M. 1947, is amended to 10 read as follows: 11 "16-2404. Township officers. The officers of townships 12 are two-constables,-and-such-other-inferior-and--subordinate 13 officers as are provided for (a) elsewhere in this code, or 14 (b) by the board of county commissioners.*

-End-

HB523

Approved by Committee on Judiciary

1	HOUSE BILL NO. 523
2	INTRODUCED BY RASMUSSEN, BABCOCK
3	(BY REQUEST)
4	
5	A BILL FOR AN ACT ENTITLED: "AN ACT TO AMEND SECTION
6	16-2404, R.C.M. 1947, TO REMOVE THE STATUTORY REQUIREMENT
7	THAT THERE BE TWO CONSTABLES IN EVERY TOWNSHIP."
8	
9	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MONTANA:
10	Section 1. Section 16-2404, R.C.M. 1947, is amended to
11	read as follows:
12	*16-2404. Township officers. The-officers-of-townships
13	are-two-constables,-and-such-other-inferior-andsubordinate
14	officersas-are-provided-for (a) elsewhere-in-this-codey-or
15	(b) bytheboardofcountycommissioners, EXCEPT AS
16	OTHERWISE PROVIDED IN THESE CODES, THE OFFICERS OF TOWNSHIPS
17	SHALL BE DESIGNATED BY THE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF THE
18	COUNTY IN WHICH THE TOWNSHIP IS LOCATED. "

-End-

HB 523

1	HOUSE BILL NO. 523
2	INTRODUCED BY RASMUSSEN, BABCOCK
3	(3Y REQUEST)
	(ST MENDEL)
4	
5	A BILL FOR AN ACT ENTITLED: "AN ACT TO AMEND SECTION
6	16-2404, R.C.M. 1947, TO REMOVE THE STATUTORY REQUIREMENT
7	TUAT THERE BE TWO CONSTABLES IN EVERY TOWNSHIP."
8	
9	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MONTANA:
0	Section 1. Section 16-2404, R.C.M. 1947, is amended to
1	read as follows:
2	"16-2404. Township officers. The officers of townships
3	are-two-constables,-and-such-other-inferior-andsubordinate
4	officersas-are-provided-for tay elsewhere-in-this-code;-or
5	tb) bytheboardofcountycommissioners: EXCEPT AS
6	OTHERWISE PROVIDED IN THESE CODES, THE OFFICERS OF TOWNSHIPS
7	SHALL BE DESIGNATED BY THE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF THE
8	COUNTY IN WHICH THE TOWNSHIP IS LOCATED. *

-End-