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Section 14 (C) provides "when the principal amount of the loan 
exceeds three hundred dollars ... the licensee may require a borrower 
to insure tangible personal property . . ." 

"All parts of a statute relating to the same subject must be con­
strued together." Hilger v. Moore, 56 Mont. 146, 182 Pac. 477. In con­
struing the sections previously cited it is clear that the legislature 
intended that the Montana Consumer Loan Commissioner may adopt 
rules regulating the sale of other kinds of insurance in addition to 
property insurance on loans of more than three hundred dollars. 

It may be contended that only personal property given as security 
for a loan over three hundred dollars may be insured under this act. 
This contention is again without merit since the act specifically con­
templates "each kind" and "any kind of insurance." This phraseology 
would not be used if the legislature intended that only property in­
surance could be sold. 

Section 2 (b) of the Montana Consumer Loan Act provides that: 

"All powers and duties of regulation and supervision con­
ferred by this act are vested in the commissioner. The commissioner 
shall adopt and promulgate such rules and regulations as shall be 

necessary to carry out the intent and purposes of this act." 

This section of the act is direct authority for the commissioner to 
adopt rules regulating the specified transactions enumerated in this act. 

It is therefore my opinion that the Montana Consumer Loan Act 
enacted as Chapter 283, Laws of Montana, 1959, permits the Montana 
Consumer Loan Commissioner to adopt rules regulating the sale of 
credit life and/or health and accident insurance on loans of more than 
three hundred dollars. 

Very truly yours, 

FORREST H. ANDERSON 
Attorney General 

Opinion No. 16 

STATE EXAMINER: Powers: loan associations: license required loans 
$1000 or less if 10% interest charged-LICENSES: Consumer Loans: 

license required $1000 or less if 10% interest charged-Chapter 
283, Laws of 1959 

Held: The Montana Consumer Loan Act does not require the licensing 
of all individuals who wish to contract for consumer loans in 
amounts of $1000 or less but only those individuals who engage 
in the business of making loans or advances and who charge 
more than ten per cent (10%) for interest, compensation, con­
sideration or expense per annum. 
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July 1. 1959 

Mr. R. E. Towle 
Montana Consumer Loan Commissioner 
Office of the State Examiner 
Capitol Building 
Helena. Montana 

Dear Mr. Towle: 

You have requested my opinion whether the Montana Consumer 
Loan Act enacted as Chapter 283. Laws of Montana. 1959. requires 
the licensing of all individuals who wish to contract for consumer loans 
in amounts of $1000 or less on or after July 1. 1959. 

Section 4 (a) provides in part: 

"On or after July L 1959. no person shall engage in the busi­
ness of making loans or advances of money on credit in amounts 
of one thousand dollars ($1000) or less and contract for. charge. or 
receive directly or indirectly or in connection with any such loan 
or advance any charges whether for interest. compensation. con­
sideration. or expense which in the aggregate are greater than ten 
per cent (10%) per annum except as provided in and authorized by 
this act." (Emphasis supplied) 

This section is clear that the legislature only intended to license 
those individuals who "engage in the business of making loans or 
advances" and who charge more than ten per cent 00%) per annum 
as interest. compensation or consideration. 

It is therefore my opinion that the Montana Consumer Loan Act 
does not require the licensing of all individuals who wish to contract 
for consumer loans in amounts of $1000 or less but only those in­
dividuals who engage in the business of making loans or advances 
and who charge more than ten per cent (10%) for interest. compensa­
tion. consideration or expense per annum. 

Very truly yours. 

FORREST H. ANDERSON 
Attorney General 

Opinion No. 17 

COURTS: Officers: court reporters: expenses when traveling-Sections 
59-801. 59-802 and 93-1906. Revised Codes of Montana. 1947 

Held: District Court Stenographers are entitled to actual and necessary 
expenses permitted by Section 93-1906. The mileage allowance 
of 7c per mile is not applicable to District Court Stenographers. 
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