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1ng upon the quarter of the year in 
which the license is sought. 

Your second question is what tax 
will be imposed upon a trailer, the 
principal use of which is living quar­
ters, t.emporary or permanent, if such 
unit is not registered in another juris­
diction. 

Section 2, Chapter 219, supra, pro­
vides -as follows: 

"In addition to other fees for the 
licensing of vehicles, there shall be 

collected for each motor truck, trailer 
and semi-trailer licensed for that year 
in another jurisdiction and operated 
upon itinerant basis in this state upon 
each entrance into the state of Mon­
tana, based upon the application of the 
licensee, a fee to be computed as fol­
lows: 

Five dollars ($5.00) fQr each trip 
for the ·first four hundred (400) miles 
or less, ten dollaTs ($10.00) for each 
trip over four hundred (400) miles, 
on any vehicle or combination of ve­
hicles of over six thousand (6,000) 
pounds gross weight; provided, how­
ever, such fees shall not apply to any 
trailer the principal use of which is 
living quarters, temporary or per­
manent." 

This section specifically excludes 
trailers, the principal use of which is 
living quarters, temporary or perman­
ent, from the itinerant trip tax, provid­
ed such trailers are licensed in another 
jurisdiction. 

However, a "house" trailer not licens­
ed in another jUTisdiction which comes 
into Montana will be subject to the 
gross weight tax imposed upon trailers 
by Schedule II of Section 1 of Chapter 
219, supra. If the trailer is licensed in 
another jurisdiction then whether it 
will be subject to the gross weight tax 
will depend on whether it is licensed in 
a State with which Montana has a 
reciprocity agreement. 

Very truly yours, 
ARNOLD H. OLSEN 
Attorney General 

Opinion .. No ... 56 

Taxation-Migratory Personal 
Property-Motor Vehicle~ounty 

Assessors 

Held: 1. Chapter 85, Session Laws of 
1951, applies only to "migratory" 
personal property. Migratory 
personal property is that per­
sonal property which is brought 
into the State after the regular 
assessment day, and which re­
mains in this State for not less 
than thirty days, but which is to 
be moved out of the State be­
fore the next regular assessment 
day. 
2. Chapter 219, Session Laws of 
1951, imposes a graduated 
"sales" tax upon all new pass­
enger motor vehicles which are 
brought into the State after 
January 1, 1952, but which are 
not classified as "migratory" 
personal property. 
3. A used motor vehicle, that 
is, one which is not brand new, 
is taxable under Chapter 85, 
Session Laws of 1951, if it is 
classified as "migratory" per­
sonal property. If the used mo­
tor vehicle is not classified as 
"migratory" personal property 
then it is not subject to assess­
ment and taxation until the 
next succeeding assessment day. 
4. The County Assessor may 
require the taxpayer to submit 
satisfactory proof of the intend­
ed prospective use of the vehicle 
so that the Assessor may ascer­
tain if the property should be 
classified as "migratory." 

January 3, 1952. 

Mr. Archie E. Simon, Chairman 
State Board of Equalization 
Helena, Montana 

Dear Mr. Simon: 

You have requested my opllllon on 
the proper interpretation to be placed 
upon Ohapters 85 and 219, Laws of 
1951, insofar as they pertain to the tax­
ation of motor vehicles in this State. 

Chapter 85, supra, is according to 
its title an act to provide for the as­
sessment, levy and collection of taxes 
011 all migratory personal property 
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brought, driven or coming into this 
state after the regular assessment date 
of such prcperty. Chapter 219, supra, 
is the highway revenue bill which pro­
vides, among other fees, for a tax on 
new passenger motor vehicles on which 
no property tax has been paid and 
which the purchaser thereof seeks to 
license in the State of Montana. 

Section 1 of Chapter 85, supra pro-
vides in part as f<>llows: ' 

"Any migratory personal property 
including livestock, brought, drive~ 
or coming into this state at any time 
during the year and which shall re­
main in the state for a period of not 
less than thirty (30) days, shall be 
subject to taxation and shaH be as­
sessed for all taxes, levied or leviable 
for that year in the county in which 
the same shall thus be and remain 
in the same manner and to the sam~ 
extent, except as hereinafter other­
wise provided, as though such proper­
ty had been in the county on the 
regular assessment date; ... (Em­
phasis supplied) 

Section 3 of Chapter 219, supra pro-
vides in part 'as follows: ' 

"That in consideration of the right 
to use the highways of the State of 
Montana, and from and after Jan­
uary I, 1962, there shall be imposed 
upon all new passenger motor vehi­
cles for which a license is sought, and 
which have not been otherwise as­
sessed and not subject to assessment 
and taxation in Montana, a motor 
vehicles sales tax ... " (Emphasis 
supplied) 

The Section then provides for a 
graduated tax to be based on the F. O. 
B. factory list price of the motor vehi­
cle. 

Both of these acts were passed at the 
last legislative assembly. The question 
arises as to what tax will be imposed 
upon a new passenger motor vehicle 
which is brought into the State of 
Montana after January 1st, which is 
"tax day" for motor vehicles. Section 
53-114, Sub-section 5, Revised Codes of 
Montana, 1947. 

Will the new automobile be subject 
to an ad valorem tax thirty days after 
it is brought into the State, or will it 
be subject to the so-called "sales tax" 

based on the F. O. B. price of the ve­
hicle? 

Statutes enacted at the same session 
of the legislature which deal with the 
same general subject are to be read in 
pari materia, and both should be given 
effect if possible. State v. Fransham, 
19 Mont. 273, 48 Pac. 1; McElwee v. 
McNaughton, 19 Mont. 474, 48 Pac. 
1118. 

The first question that arises in con­
struing the two acts together is whe­
ther or not automobiles are subject to 
taxation under Chapter 85. Automobiles 
are personal property and Chapter 85 
applies to personal property. Further, 
the exemption in the Act of automo­
biles owned by persons transporting 
bona fide migratory agricultural work­
ers is evidence that the Legislature in­
tended Chapter 85 to apply to automo­
biles. However, if we say that all new 
automobiles brought into the State af­
ter "tax day" are taxable undeT Chap­
ter 85 then Section 3 of Chapter 2.19 
is meaningless. If Chapter 85 applied 
to all personal property I believe that 
such a construction would be inesca­
pable. 

However, Chapter 85 by its express 
terms is applicable only to "migratory 
personal property." What did the legis­
lature mean by the use of these words? 
"Migratory" is defined to mean making 
a migration or migrations, such as 
moving habitually or occasionally from 
one region or climate to another, as 
comparable to roving or wandering or 
nomadic. Di Guillo v. Rice (Cal. Super.) 
70 Pac. (2d) 717, 720, 27 Words and 
Phrases 170. Hence, the Legislature ap­
parently intended Chapter 85 to apply 
to that property which is moved into 
and then out of the State of Montana. 
Chapter 85 itself does not define what 
is meant by the word, but reading the 
Act as a whole it becomes a,pparent 
that the legislature intended that the 
property WQuld have to acquire a some­
what permanent situs in the State of 
Montana as the tax is to be applied on­
ly to property which remains in this 
State for a period of not less than thir­
ty (30) days. The legislature did not 
contemplate that migratory personal 
property would include that property 
brought into the state after "tax day" 
but which would acquire a permanent 
situs in the state extending beyond 
the next assessment day. This is clear 
from re3iding Section 4 of the Act in 
wnich the Legislature provided that if 
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any of the property assessed and taxed 
after the first Monday in March of 
any year shall remain in the same own­
ership and shall appear on the next as­
sessment roll then the amount of the 
tax paid on such identical pro.perty 
shall be credited upon the tax to be 
paid on such property for such next 
succeeding year. 

Hence, I believe that it is clear that 
the legislature intended that Chapter 
85 apply to personal property brought 
into this State after the regular assess­
ment day and which remains in the 
State for a period not less than thirty 
dayS but which will be removed from 
the state before the next succeeding 
a&'5essment day. Therefore, if a new 
passenger motor vehicle is brought into 
the State after January 1st, and if the 
owner of such vehicle intends to keep 
the automobile within the State until 
the next assessment day, then that au­
tomobile would not be considered "mi­
gratory personal property" and hence 
would not be subject to assessment and 
taxation under Chapter 85, but this 
automobile would be taxable under the 
provisions of Section 3 of Chapter 219. 

If the owner of such new passengeT 
automobile intends to move the auto­
mobile out of the State before the next 
assessment day then it would be "mi­
gratory personal property" and subject 
to assessment and taxation under 
Chapter 85 and not under Chapter 219. 

If a used automobile is brought into 
the State after January 1st, then it Is 
taxable under Chapter 85 if it is "mi­
gratory", and if it is not "migratory" 
then it will not be subject. to assess­
ment until the succeeding year. 

It must be readily admitted that a 
law such as Chapter 85 is difficult to 
administer because it must depend on 
the intent of the owner which is a sub­
jective ratJher than an objective cri­
terion. Yet, it Is not the function of the 
executive or judicial branches of gov­
ernment to question the wisdom of le­
gislature, but rather they must admin­
ister and enforce the law as it is writ­
ten. The taxing officials as an admin­
istrative procedure should require the 
taxpayer to submit proof as to the in­
tended use of the property so as to en­
able them to ascertain if the property 
is migratory. 0 

It is my opinion that the interpreta­
tion given to Chapters 85 and 2,19, Ses­
sion Laws of 1951, above reconciles the 

two acts and gives effect to both in ac­
cordance with the legislative intent. My 
opinion may be briefly summarized as 
follows: 

1. Chapter 85, Session Laws of 1951, 
applies only to "migratory" personal 
property. Migratory personal proper­
ty is that personaJ property which is 
brought into the State after the regu­
lar assessment day, and which remains 
in this State for not less than thirty 
days, but which is to be moved out of 
the State before the next regular as­
sessment day. 

2. Chapter 219, Session Laws of 1951, 
imposes a graduated "sales" tax upon 
all new passenger motor vehicles which 
are brought into the State after Janu­
ary I, 1952, but which are not classified 
as "migratory" personal property. 

3. A used motor vehicle, that is, one 
which is not brand new, is taxable un­
der Chapter 85, Session Laws of 1951. 
if it is classified as "migratory" per­
sonal property. If the used motor vehi­
cle Is not classified as "migratory" per­
sonal property then it is not subject 
to assessment and taxation until the 
next succeeding -assessment day. 

4. The County Assessor may re­
quire the taxpayer to submit satisfac­
tory proof of the intended prospective 
use of the vehicle so that the Assessor 
may ascertain if the property should 
be classified as "migratory." 

Very truly yours, 
ARNOLD H. OLSEN 
Attorney General 

Opinion No. 5'7 

Clerk of the District Court-Fees 
and Salaries-Fees In Probate 

Proceedings-Sections 25-232, 25-233, 
91-4314, 91-4316, Revised Codes of 

Montana, 194'7. 

Held: Tha.t the clerk of the district 
court should not charge a par­
ty $2.50 upon that party's first 
a.ppearance in instances not 
provided for in the special sta­
tute (Section 25-233, Revised 
Codes of Montana, 1947) gov­
erning fees of the clerk in pro­
bate proceedings. except in 
those cases arising out of pro-
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