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a population of less than 2000, is
$200.00.

2. Excess license fees collected may
be refunded by the Liquor Control
Board out of any license fees, fines and
penalties thereafter collected under the
provisions of Chapter 84, before the
same are deposited with the State
Treasurer.

Qctober 7, 1937.

Montana Liquor Control Board
Helena, Montana

Gentlemen:

You have submitted for my opinion,
the following state of facts:

You state that you have charged and
received a license fee of $600 for liquor
licenses to operate within unincorpo-
rated villages with a population of less
than 2000 people. Your inquiry is as
to the proper fee to be charged, and if
said fee charged and collected is in ex-
cess of that provided by law, what
authority, if any, has the Board to make
a refund of such excess?

Section 4 of Chapter 84 of the 1937
Session Laws provides:

“For each license in cities with a
population of ten thousand (10,000)
or more and within a distance of five
(5) miles thereof, outside of an in-
corporated city or town, six hundred
dollars ($600.00) per annum. For
each license in cities with a popula-
tion of more than five thousand
(5,000) and less than ten thousand
(10,000) and within a distance of
five (5) miles thereof, outside of an
incorporated city or town, four hun-
dred fifty dollars ($450.00) per annum.
For each license in cities with a
population of more than two thou-
sand (2,000) and less than five thou-
sand (5000), three hundred dollars
($300.00) per annum. For each li-
cense in cities, towns and unincorpo-
rated villages and towns, with a
population of less than two thousand
(2000), two hundred dollars ($200.00)

.. per annum. Fraternal organizations
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lection of Refunds. The act expressly provxdes that the

HELD: 1. Under Section 4, Chap- fee for a license in a city with a popu-
ter 84, Laws 1937, license fees in un- lation of 10,000 or more, and within a
incorporated villages and towns having distance of five miles thereof, outside
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an unincorporated city or town, shall
be $600.00 per annum. The act further
provides that for each license in an
unincorporated village with a popula-
tion less than 2000, the fee shall be
$200 per annum.

It may be urged that inasmuch as a
village may be within five miles of an
incorporated city, that it is only fair
that the fee should be $600 per annum,
because other licensees residing beyond
said incorporated village, but within
five miles of said city, are required to
pay the $600 license fee per annum.

The legislature has made the classi-
fications, and the question of the fair-
ness or unfairness of the amount of the
license must be properly addressed to
the legislature. This office can only
interpret the law as it finds it. The
statute is definite and specific, and no
ambiguity is involved, and therefore the
language lends its own interpretation.
The language expressly states that the
license fee to be charged these appli-
cants, if they live in an unincorporated
village, is the sum of $200. It would
follow that the liquor control board
having charged the vendors in said
unincorporated village a fee of $600,
whereas the fee should have been $200,
that said vendors are legally entitled
to have a refund of $400 for each of
said licenses. The only question in-
volved is how shall these fees be re-
funded, if refunded at all.

Section 193, R. C. M. 1935, provides:

“State moneys, how expended by
treasurer. No moneys received by the
state treasurer shall be paid out by
him except upon state warrant issued
by the state auditor, and the state
auditor shall not issue his warrant
upon the state treasurer save by vir-
tue of unexhausted appropriation
therefor made by the legislative as-
sembly, and after the presentation to
him of a claim duly approved by the
state board of examiners, save and
except for salaries and compensation
of officers fixed by law; provided,
however, that nothing in this act con-
tained shall require an appropriation
by the legislature for the administer-
ing of any specific trust funds admin-
istered by any state board, commis-
sion or department,”

This office is advised by your de-
partment that said license fees have
already been remitted to the state
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treasurer, and that the law does not
permit the state treasurer to make a
refund upon the order of the Montana
Liquor Control Board.

Section 29 of Chapter 84 of the 1937
Session Laws provides that all receipts
from license fees, fines and penalties,
collected under the provisions of the
act shall be paid to the state treasurer,
and by him apportioned and allocated
as follows: fifty per cent to the State
Public School General Fund, and fifty
per cent to the Public Welfare Fund,
for the administration of the Social
Security Laws.

While the fees that you have re-
ceived from these applicants, including
amounts received by you in excess of
that required by law, have been re-
mitted to the state treasurer, and
therefore those particular amounts have
been earmarked, yet the fund itself is
a continuing and existing fund, con-
stantly and continuously being aug-
mented and replenished from fines,
penalties and licenses. The State Pub-
lic School General Fund and the Pub-
lic Welfare Fund have been the bene-
ficiaries of these excess fees, which
they were not entitled to receive.
Therefore, if your board deducts the
amount of such excess fees from said
fund, these beneficiaries would be in
the same position as they would have
been in had the proper legal fees been
charged.

You are authorized to refund to said
applicants the excess fees so paid by
them to you from license fees, fines,
and penalties collected under the pro-
visions of said Chapter 84 of said Act,
as funds accrue therefrom, and if said
funds accrued, or accruing, are in-
sufficient to refund the same at any
specific time, you may refund the same
to said applicants, pro rata, from time
to time, until the entire excess fees have
been remitted.
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