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In Ryan •. Mineral County High 
School, 146 Pac. 792, an Oklahoma 
case, the court held that where plain­
tiff's application was considered by the 
board, a motion made to employ appli­
cant, the clerk notified applicant and 
he accepted, the contract was complete, 
and a vote to reconsider after appli­
cant had accepted could not abrogate 
the contract. See also Morton v. Han­
cock County, 30 S. W. (2d) 250. 

In a letter from the teacher, Miss 
Moore, she advises that she taught this 
school for four months. We think that 
when the board while in session duly 
authorizes the employment of a teach­
er and made an entry on its minute 
records to that effect and the teacher 
entered upon her duties as a teacher 
and taught under such arrangements 
for four months that that is such a 
compliance with the statutes as the 
teacher may rely upon and collect her 
salary. True Chapter 122, above, pro­
vides that the contract must be exe­
cuted in duplicate by the teacher and 
the board, but where the hoard is at 
fault in not preparing the contract 
and attending to its execution, the 
board should not be permitted to' take 
advantage of its own neglect of duty 
to the injury of the other party. (56 C. 
J. 388, Sec. 315.) 

Opinion No. 475. 

Motor Vehicles-Second Hand Dealer's 
License-Dealer's Licenses. 

HELD. A dealer in :Motor Vehicles, 
if he handles second hand vehicles, 
must pay a $5.00 license fee in addi­
tion to the dealers license provided in 
the general motor vehicle laws. 

February 27, 1934. 
You inquire as to whether or not a 

dealer in autmobiles who pays a li­
cense fee of thirty dollars ($30.00) 
must also pay an additional five dollar 
($5.00) license fee in case he deals in 
second hand cars. 

This license fee in relation to dealers 
in second hand cars is contained in 
Section 14 of Chapter 113, Laws of 
1925, which provides as follows: 

"Section 14. Licensing of Second 
Hand Dealers; Keeping records of 
Vehicles Received for Sale and Pen­
alty. That after the first day of Jan­
uary, nineteen hundred and twenty-

six, it shall be unlawful for any per­
son to carryon or conduct in this 
state the business of buying, selling 
or dealing in used vehicles or parts 
thereof, unless and until he shall have 
received a license from the Registrar 
of Motor Vehicles authorizing the car­
rying on or conducting of such busi­
ness ... * * Upon making such appli­
cation the person applying therefor 
shall pay to the Registrar of Motor 
Vehicles in addition to the fees re­
quired of dealers under the provisions 
of Section 1760 of the Reyised Codes 
of Montana of 1921 a fee of five dol­
lars. .. * * Any person guilty of vio­
lating any of the proYisions of this 
section shall be deemed guilty of a 
felony * * *." 

The Supreme Court. in the case of 
Bond Lumber Co. y. Timmons, et al., 
82 Mont. 497, 501, said: "This statute" 
(Chap. 113, Laws of 1925) "is intend­
ed solely as a police regulation and 
was never intended to establish an ex­
clusiYe method of transfer of title to 
an automobile." 

The purpose and character of Chap­
ter 113 is clearly indicated in its title: 

"An act to protect the title of mo­
tor vehicles within this state; * ,. .. 
to Regulate purchase and sale or oth­
er transfer of owner.ship; to facilitate 
the recovery of motor vehicles stolen 
or otherwise unlawfully taken; to pro­
vide for the regulation and licensing 
of certain dealers in used and sec­
ond hand vehicles as herein defined; 
* * *." 
A further indication that Chapter 

113, Laws of 1925, is intended to be a 
separate act is that Section 1 thereof 
contains definitions of "the words and 
phrases used in this Act", which sec­
tion was amended by Chapter 183, Laws 
of 1929. Definitions of terms used in 
the general Motor Vehicle Laws are 
contained in Section 1763, R. C. M., 
1921, which has not been amended and 
to which no reference was made either 
in Chapter 113 (1925) or Chapter 183 
(1929). 

Section 14 of Chapter 113, Laws of 
1925, does not appear to have been re­
pealed either expressly or by implica­
tion. 

We, therefore, conclude that the fh'e 
dollar license fee must be paid in addi­
tion to the thirty dollar license fee re­
quired by the general Motor Vehicle 
Laws. 
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