
OPINIONS OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL 

"The undistributed or unpartitioned property of deceased 
persons may be assessed to the heirs, guardians, executors, or 
administrators, and a payment of taxes made by either binds. 
all the parties in interest for their equal proportions." 
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From the foregoing provision it is my opinion that the property in 
question was properly assessed and that the notice of application for 
tax deed was sufficient. (See Hill vs. Lewis and C1ark County, 54 Mont. 
479.) In any event any action to set the same aside is now barred by 
the statute of limitations. (Section 2214, R.C.M. 1921 as amended by 
Chapter 83, Laws of 1927.) I am, however, doubtful of the county's 
right to sell an undivided half interest in the land as was done in this 
instance as I find no statutory authority for such procedure. It is not 
necessary to decide this question, however, for the reason that since the 
county has secured a tax deed to all of the land in question it can now 
only be disposed of by sale in the manner provided by law and therefore 
the county would have no right to quit-claim as requested. It would 
appear to me that as the party interested in obtaining the undivided in­
tE:rest still in the name of the county is one and the same party who 
purchased the undivided half interest from the county that he should 
deed this interest back to the county and- have his money returned and 
then have the entire tract again offered' 'for sale in accordance wit}­
the law. Very truly yours, 

L. A. FOOT, 
Attorney General.. 

Cosmetology - Licenses - Inspections - Prosecutions -
Revocations of Licenses-Powers of Boards. 

Tb~ cosmetology act is indefinite as to reqUlrmg shop 
licenses. The necessity of procuring a practitioner's license is 
not dispensed with merely because practitioner does not main­
tain established place of business. A person should not be 
licensed to practice unless he is qualified to practice all the 
subjects embraced within. the definition of "cosmetology." Ad­
vertising alone does not constitute the practice of cosmetology 
and evidence of actually engaging in the practice would be 
necessary to warrant prosecution. . 

The law makes no provision for special teachers' licenses. 
Complaints for practising without a license should be submit­
ted to the county attorney. Complaints regarding the violation 
of the rules and requirements may be heard by the board upon 
order to show cause, and, if sustained, licenses may be revoked. 
Inspector has no authority to seize articles for evidence. 
Licensee refusing admission to inspector is subj~i to having 
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his license revoked by the board after due hearings. The board 
should collect application fee of $10.00 and an additional $5.00 
license fee if license is issued. Board cannot charge any fees 
except those mentioned in statutes regardless of whether or 
not license expires before renewal. Persons engaged in the 
l)ractice any time before the act took effect who have not at 
the time of this opinion secured their licenses cannot be licensed 
yvithout examination. 

Mrs. Reba House, October 21, 1930. 
Secretary-Treasurer, 

Montana State Examining Board of Beauty Culturists, 
Helena, Montana. 

My dear Mrs. House: 

You have requested my opinion on the following questions: 

"1. Can the board issue a license for the shop owner as 
the law reads: 'No place shall be used or maintained for the 
practice or teaching of cosmetology for compensation except 
under a license'? If so, what would be the license fee? 

"2. Can an operator go from one home to another to do 
work for compensation? 

"3. Can We classify our licenses as we do now? We have 
thirteen branches incorporated as cosmetology and have per­
manent waving, haircutting and manicuring as special courses. 
We let it be optional with the operator whether or not she 
takes the special courses, but have ruled that she or he must 
spend extra time and preparation as well as take an examina­
tion before practicing. Our law reads: 'Any and all work gen­
erally included in term "hairdressing".' It seems to me that if 
they get a license for $5.00 they can do anything pertaining to 
beauty work as they care to take it up. 

"4. Can an operator put a sign in a window: 'Marcelling', 
before she applies for registration, accompanied by health cer­
tificate and fees? 

"5. Should a teacher hold a regular license or should the 
license have a special mark to distinguish it from just an oper­
ator, and what is the fee? The last few lines of Section 3 read: 
'providing due application for registration shall be made and 
the required fee paid by such person under such rules as the 
state board may provide'. Do we set the fee? 

"6. Is not this board the court for the first hearing and 
what would be the proper procedure in case of violation of our 
rules? 

"7. Could our inspector pick up evidence such as towels 
and instrurr:ents to be used at hearings and then return same? 
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What should an inspector do when refused admittance to the 
shop? 

"8. Can we get $15.00 from operators coming in from an­
other state; $10.00 at time of registration and $5.00 on the 
issuance of the license? Do we still have to admit Montana 
operators without examination who were working in Montana 
July 1, 1929, but never applied for a license 'before? Could we 
make a rule that anyone failing to apply 60 or 90 days after 
law went into effect would be compelled to take examination? 

"9. Can our rule as follows, hold: 'If you fail to pay re­
newal fee on December 31st, each year, your license automatic­
ally expires and can only be reinstated by paying the restora­
tion fee of $5.00 plus the regular fee of $5.00'?" 
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In answer to your first question will say that while the law pro­
vides that "no place shall be used or maintained for the practice or 
teaching of (!osmetology for compensation except under a license," no 
provision whatever is made for the granting of a shop license nor is any 
license fee fixed. It would appear possible that the intent of the act 
was to require a shop license so as to give the board authority to control 
the sanitary conditions of the shops, but in view of the fact that pro­
vision is made only for issuing a license to a qualified practitioner 01' 

teacher or a school, it is lmpossible to arrive with any degree of cer­
tainty as to the intent of the legislature and because of this ambiguity 
any attempted interpretation of this part of the act by this office 
would be of little value. 

It is therefore suggested that the legislature, which will soon con­
vene; be asked to amend the act so as to more clearly express the intent 
thereof in this regard. 

In answer to your second question, Section 1 of said act provides 
that "no person shall practice or teach cosmetology * * >I< without 
first obtaining a license"; hence, the mere fact that a person does not 
maintain an established place of business does not exempt him from 
obtaining a license. 

In answer to your third question, will say that I agree with you 
that the payment of $5.00 and the obtaining of a license entitles the 
holder to engage in the general practice of cosmetology. A perSOll 
should not be licensed unless he is qualified to practice generally all the 
subjects embraced within the definition of "cosmetology." 

In answer to your fourth question, will say that the law simply 
prohibits the practice of cosmetology without a license and does not 
prohibit advertising; therefore, evidence of actually engaging in the 
practice would be necessary before a conviction for practicing without 
a license could be obtained. 

In answer to your fifth question, I find no provision for a special 
teacher's license, Bnd the state board is not given the authority to fix 
a license fee but IS simply authorized to make the rules under which 
a license shall be issued and these rules cannot be in conflict with the 
act itself. 



3(1~ OPINIONS OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL 

In answer to your sixth question, the board is to hear all complaints 
as to violations of its rules and regulations as provided by Section 2 of 
the act, but in the case of a complaint for practicing without a license 
this pertains to a violation of the act itself and the complaint should be 
filed with the county attorney. As to the procedure to be followed by 
the board in matters wherein it has jurisdiction to hear the complaints 
will say that the person complained against should simply be cited to 
appear before the board and show cause why his or her license should 
r.ot be revoked in answer to the complaint. 

The answer to your seventh question is that an inspector has no 
authority to pick up articles such as towels, et cetera, to be used as 
eYidence but should simply submit a report to the board of his or her 
findings. If the inspector is refused admission the matter should be 
r:-)ported to the board and the guilty person cited to appear and show 
cause why his or her license should not be revoked as the right of the 
il1spector to enter a shop is one granted under the act itself and thp. 
refusal of an operator to allow this would be sufficient grounds to 
justify the revocation of a license. 

In answer to your eighth question, Section 15 of the act provides: 

"Each applicant for examination and applicant for ad­
mission without examination by virtue of a license issued in an­
other jurisdiction, shall pay at the time of such application a fee 
of Ten Dollars ($10.00)." 

This is not a license fee but is a fee to be paid for filing the ap­
plication for examination or admission, and is not returned to the ap­
plicant even should such application be denied. Hence, you are entitled 
to charge both this application fee and the license fee when a license 
j:;> issued on the application. As to the admission of Montana operators 
without examination the law provides that any person practicing or 
teaching in this State preceding the effective date of the act, to-wit, 
.July 1, 1929, can secure a license without examination. No doubt con­
templating that those who were actively engaged in the practice would 
be fully competent to continue in the practice thereof the word "pre­
ceding" was used in the statute for the purpose of barring any who 
had not been active or who had been out of the practice for some time 
and by reason thereof had become inefficient. 

Following the intent of the act it would appear that any operator 
in Montana who had not made application for a license up to the pres­
ent date would either have not been engaged in the practice for some 
time prior to his making application or else had been guilty of prac­
ticing without a license and either grounds would, in my opinion, be 
sufficient to justify the board in refusing to grant a license without 
·examination and, of course, in the last instance if the application 
:showed that the applicant had been practicing without a license would 
justify a prosecution. 

In answer to your ninth question, will say that the act does not 
provide for a restoration fee after a license has expired and your board 
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can only make special rules for the renewal of expired licenses, but 
has no authority to fix additional fees but can only collect those specified 
by the statute. 

Very truly yours, 

L. A. FOOT, 
Attorney General. 

Counties-Officers-Purchase-Supplies - Equipment -
Board of County Commissioners. 

County officers have no authority to purchase supplies 
and equipment for their offices without authorization by the 
board of county commissioners. 

Denzil R. Young, Esq., 
County Attorney, 

Baker, Montana. 

My dear Mr. Young: 

October 21, 1930. 

You have requested my opmIOn whether officers of the county, 
other than the board of county commissioners, have the right to pur­
chase any supplies or equipment for use in their offices without pre­
vious authorization by the board. 

"Except as otherwise provided by law, a board of county 
commissioners ordinarily exercises the corporate powers of the 
county. It is in an enlarged sense the representative and guar­
dian of the county, having the management and control of its 
property and financial interests. * * *." 15 C. J. 451. 

I find no ~tatute authorizing a county officer to purchase supplies 
or equipment for his office, but on the other hand subdivision 8 of 
Section 4465, R.C.M. 1921, as amended by Chapter 95, Laws of 1923, 
provides as follows: 

"The board of county commissioners has jurisdiction and 
power * * * to: 

"Purchase, receive by donations; or lease any real or per­
sonal property necessary for the use of the county, preserve, 
take care of, manage, and control the same; but no purchase of 
real property must be made unless the value of the same has 
been previously estimated by three disinterested citizens of 
the county appointed by the district judge for that purpose, and 
no more than the appraised value must be paid therefor." 

It is therefore my opinion that county officers have no authority 
to purchase supplies and equipment for their respective offices without 
authorization of the board. However, the board has authority to adopt 
such means as in its judgment shall be expedient in assisting county 
officers properly to discharge the duties of their offices, and can there-
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