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funds and the two banks merge, can the first bank still con­
tinue to act as trustee of such securities? 

"In case there is no bank in the county and more than one 
bank is designated by the commissioners outside of the county, 
does Chapter 49, of the Laws of 1929, mean that the money must 
be pro rated the same as if the banks were in the county?" 
Chapter 49, of the Laws of 1929', provides in part as follows: 

"Provided, further, that when negotiable securities are fur­
nished, such securities may be placed in trust and the trustee's 
receipt may be accepted in lieu of the actual securities when 
such receipt is in favor of the treasurer, his successors and 
the State of Montana, and the form of receipt and the trustee 
have been approved by the State examiner," 

It was not the intention of the law that a bank should act as 
trustee of his, or its own, security, and it is therefore my opinion that 
where the two banks merge and become one legal entity that the first 
bank cannot continue to act as trustee of the securities in question. 
If, however, the two banks continue to operate as separate legal entities, 
and the only "merger" is that a third corporation is the holder of stock 
in both banks, so that in fact there is no merger of their entities, busi­
ness and affairs, it would be otherwise. 

In answer to your second question, will say that there is no pro­
vision in Chapter 49, supra, requiring the pro rating of county funds 
in banks outside of the county. 

Very truly yours, 
L. A. FOOT, 

Attorney General. 

Credit Union Associations-Secretary of State-Articles 
of Incorporation-Fees-Corporations. 

When a credit union association organized under Chapter 
105, Laws of 1929, files its articles of incorporation with the 
secretary of state, he should issue a certificate of incorpora­
tion and charge a filing fee of $5.00 for filing the articles and 
the fee provided by Section 145, R.C.M. 1921, for issuing 
the certificate of incorporation. 

W. E. Harmon, Esq., 
Secretary of State, 

Helena, Montana. 

My dear Mr. Harmon: 

December 11, 1929. 

You have requested my OpInIOn on the following state of facts: 
There has been tendered to your office articles of incorporation of 

the Milwaukee Employers' Credit Union Association, formed under the 
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prOVISIOns of Chapter 105, Laws of 1929. Section 27, of that act pro­
vides that the secretary of state shall charge a fee of $5.00 for filing 
and recording the articles of incorporation. The statute makes no pro­
vision, however, for the issuance of a certificate of incorporation by 
your department, and you therefore desire to know whether it is re­
quired by law that you should issue a certificate of incorporation upon 
the filing of articles of these associations, and, if so, does the additional 
charge for a charter fixed by Section 145, paragraph 3, apply? 

In construing an act the intent of the legislature must be given ef­
fect, if possible, and while it is true that the act in question does not 
make specific provision for the issuance of a certificate of incorporation, 
yet Section 4 thereof does refer to the certificate issued by the secre­
tary of state in pursuance of the act, and it is therefore evident that 
it was the intention of the legislature that a certificate of incorporation 
should be issued. 

Section 27 of the act provides, in part: "The secretary of state shall 
charge a flat fee of $5.00 for filing and recording the articles of in­
corporation of credit unions, which fee shall be in lieu of other filing 
fees." However, the fee charged for issuing a certificate of incorpora­
tion is not a filing fee, and therefore the payment of the same is not 
exempt by the above provision, and it is my opinion that you should 
issue a certificate of incorporation and charge the fee fixed by Section 
145, paragraph 3, R.C.M., 1921. 

Very truly yours, 
L. A. FOOT, 

Attorney General. 

Taxation-Tax Sales - Appraisers - Counties - County 
Commissioners. 

When a county sells real property acquired through pur­
chase at tax sales if the value thereof is reasonably in excess 
of $100 the board may proceed to sell it according to the 
method provided in Chapter 162, Laws of 1929, without ap­
praisement by appraisers appointed by the district court. If, 
however, the reasonable value is less than $100, appraisement 
must first be had by appraisers appointed by the district court. 

P. R. Heily, Esq., 
County Attorney, 

Columbus, Montana. 

My dear Mr. HeiIy: 

December 12, 1929. 

You request an opinion whether in the sale by the county of real 
prope~ty acquired by it through tax sales it is necessary to have ap­
praisers appointed by the judge of the district court to appraise the 
property. 
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