The Courts of Limited Jurisdiction in Montana are Justice Courts, City Courts and Municipal Courts. There are 61 Justice Courts, 84 City Courts and 6 Municipal Courts. Although the jurisdiction of these courts differs slightly, collectively they address cases involving misdemeanor offenses, civil cases for amounts up to $12,000, small claims valued up to $7,000, landlord/tenant disputes, local ordinances, forcible entry and detainer, protection orders, certain issues involving juveniles, and other matters. The total caseload of these courts is about 5 times greater than that of the District Courts in Montana. Courts of Limited Jurisdiction are the courts in which most Montanans seeking justice will encounter the justice system.

Justice and Municipal Court Judges are elected, unless appointed to fill a vacated position. Judges appointed to fill a vacated position must run for the position at the end of the term to which they were appointed. City Court Judges may be elected or appointed. All Limited Jurisdiction Court Judges serve four-year terms. Justice Court and City Court Judges are not required to be attorneys; Municipal Court Judges must be attorneys. In 2011, there were 112 Limited Jurisdiction Court Judges. Numerous judges serve as both Justice of the Peace and City Judges.

All Limited Jurisdiction Court Judges must attend two Supreme Court-supervised training conferences each year and pass a Certification Examination each term. Failure to attend a training conference or pass the examination creates a vacancy in the Judge's office.


About Limited Courts

Pay a traffic ticket, Commission, Automation Advisory, Stats, Newsletter

best practice guides

Best Practice Guides

Orders of Protection, Search Warrants, User Guides, CitePay instructions, Drivers licensed suspensions


Training Guides & Manuals

Bond Book, Deskbook, Benchbook, Clerk's Manual DUI Rules of Evidence Training Manuals, Forms



65 of 136 Courts Converted - 48% Installed

by end of January 2023

  • Alberton City Court (May 2019)
  • Beaverhead County Justice Court (April 2021)
  • Belgrade City Court (June 2021)
  • Big Horn County Justice Court (March 2022)
  • Big Timber City Court (July 2021)
  • Billings Municipal Court (October 2022)
  • Boulder City Court (March 2021)
  • Bozeman Municipal Court (December 2022)
  • Bridger City Court (November 2021)
  • Broadwater County Justice Court (August 2022)
  • Carbon County Justice Court (March 2022)
  • Carter County Justice Court (April 2022)
  • Chouteau County Justice Court (August 2021)
  • Columbia Falls City Court (November 2019)
  • Columbus City Court (April 2022)
  • Daniels County Justice Court (July 2022)
  • Darby City Court (November 2021)
  • Dawson County Justice Court (March 2020)
  • Dillon City Court (April 2021)
  • Ekalaka City Court (April 2022)
  • Ennis City Court (June 2021)
  • Fairview City Court (March 2021)
  • Fergus County Justice Court (June 2022)
  • Flathead County Justice Court (June 2017)
  • Fort Benton City Court (August 2021)
  • Fromberg City Court (June 2020)
  • Gallatin County Justice Court (January 2020)
  • Glendive City Court (Septemer 2020)
  • Hamilton City Court (August 2021)
  • Hardin City Court (February 2022)
  • Havre City Court (June 2021)
  • Hill County Justice Court (August 2019)
  • Jefferson County Justice Court (March 2021)
  • Joliet City Court (June 2020)
  • Judith Basin County Justice Court (July 2022)
  • Kalispell Municipal Court (October 2019)
  • Laurel City Court (February 2021)
  • Lewistown City Court (June 2022)
  • Liberty County Justice Court (November 2021)
  • Madison County Justice Court (April 2021)
  • Manhattan City Court (June 2021)
  • McCone County Justice Court / Circle City Court (January 2021)
  • Mineral County Justice Court (May 2019)
  • Missoula County Justice Court (April 2020)
  • Missoula Municipal Court (August 2018)
  • Park County Justice Court (June 2020)
  • Prairie County Justice Court (November 2020)
  • Ravalli County Justice Court (January 2023)
  • Red Lodge City Court (January 2022)
  • Richland County Justice Court (December 2020)
  • Scobey City Court (July 2022)
  • Sidney City Court (December 2020)
  • Stevensville City Court (November 2021)
  • Stillwater County Justice Court (February 2022)
  • Superior City Court (May 2019)
  • Sweetgrass County Justice Court (July 2021)
  • Terry City Court (November 2020)
  • Townsend City Court (August 2022)
  • West Yellowstone City Court (August 2021)
  • Whitefish City Court (October 2019)
  • Whitehall City Court (March 2021)
  • Wibaux City Court (January 2022)
  • Wibaux County Justice Court (January 2022)
  • Yellowstone County Justice Court (September 2022)