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perhaps a more effective procedure to compel a parent to send his 
child to school. This section provides that the truant officer may 
notify the parent in writing of the nonattendance of his child and of the 
consequences of continued nonattendance, ad require the parent to 
cause the child to attend school within two days from the date of the 
notice. The statute then provides as follows: 

"Upon failure to do so, the truant officer shall make com­
plaint against the parent, guardian, or other person in charge of 
the child, in any court of competent jurisdiction in the district in 
which the offense occurs for such failure, and upon such convic­
tion, the parent. guardian or other person in charge shall be fined 
not less than five dollars nor more than twenty doilars; or the 
court may, in its discretion, require the person so convicted to 
give bond in the penal sum of one hundred dollars, with sureties, 
to the approval of the court, conditioned that he or she will cause 
the child under his or her charge to attend some recognized 
school within two days thereafter, and to remain at such school 
during the term prescribed by law; and upon failure or refusal 
of any parent, guardian, or other person to pay said fine and 
costs, or furnish said bond, according to the order of the court, 
then said parent, guardian or other person shall be imprisoned 
in the County jail not less than ten days nor more than thirty 
days." 

Thus, through the institution of court proceedings may the County 
Superintendent coerce parents into sending their children to schooL 
providing that the children are within the school age. 

Opinion No. 136 

Very truly yours, 
ARNOLD H. OLSEN, 
Attorney General. 

Children-Labor, Division of-Agriculture, Labor and Industry, 
Department of-Age Certificates. 

Held: The division of labor of the Department of Agriculture, Labor 
and Industry should not issue an age certificate to anyone 
under the age of sixteen years regardless of the nature of the 
employment for which such certificate is sought. 

Mr. Robert C. Brown, Chief 
Division of Labor 
Department of Agriculture, Labor and Industry 
Helena, Montana 

Dear Mr. Brown: 

November 30th, 1950. 

You have requested my opinion upon a question which you have 
presented in the following language: 
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"Section 3095, R.C.M., 1935, enumerates certain occupations 
at which a minor under the age of 16 years may not be employed 
but in this section the occupation or work of a pin-setter in a bowl­
ing alley is not mentioned and we have on file applications for 
age certificates for minors as young as 10 years who wish to 
work as pin-setters during the hours when the schools are not in 
session. As we do not find in the laws any mention of a mini­
mum age at which minors may be employed in occupations not 
covered by Section 3095, we have been issuing age certificates to 
these minors. 

"I would like your opinion as to whether or not we are with­
in the law in issuing age certificates to minors of 10 years of age 
to work as pin-setters in a bowling alley during the hours when 
school is not in session." 

Section 10-201, Revised Codes of Montana, 1947, (formerly Section 
3095, Revised Codes of Montana, 1935) provides as follows: 

"Employment of children under sixteen years in certain occu­
pations prohibited. Any person, company, firm, association, or cor­
poration engaged in business in this State, or any agent, officer, 
foreman, or other employee having control or management of em­
ployees, or having the power to hire or discharge employees, who 
shall knowingly employ or permit to be employed any child under 
the age of sixteen years, to render or perform any service or labor, 
whether under contract of employment or otherwise, in, on, or about 
any mine, milL smelter, workshop, factory, steam, electric, hy­
draulic, or compressed-air railroad, or passenger or freight ele­
vator, or where any machinery is operated, or for any telegraph, 
telephone, or messenger company, or in any occupation not here­
in enumerated which is known to be dangerous or unhealthfuL or 
which may be in any way detrimental to the morals of said child, 
shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and punishable as hereinafter 
provided." 

Section 10-204, Revised Codes of Montana, 1947, provides as fol­
lows: 

"Upon obtaining the age of sixteen years any child may make 
application to the Commissioner of Labor and Industry for an age 
certificate, which must be presented to any employer with whom 
such child may seek employment. The employer, if such em­
ployment be given, must countersign the certificate and return the 
same to the commissioner of said bureau, who shall keep the 
same on file in his office. Any person, firm, company, association, 
or corporation who employs or permits to be employed in any oc­
cupation prohibited by Section 10-201. any child without such cer­
tificate showing the child to be at least sixteen years of age, shall 
be guilty of a misdemeanor and punishable as hereinafter pro­
vided, should such child prove to be less than sixteen years of 
age." (Emphasis supplied.) 
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The two above quoted provisions were considered in Opinion 
No. 68, Volume 20, Report and Official Opinions of Attorney General 
and in such opinion the then Attorney General held that it is the duty 
of the division of labor to issue age certificates to all minors, regard­
less of age, or sex, who may make application therefore. The follow­
ing language of the opinion is also pertinent herein. 

"The intent of the Legislature that no child shall be employed 
regardless of age or sex, unless he obtains a certificate from the 
commissioner showing him to be at least sixteen years of age, is 
clear and unambiguous." 

I am unable to agree with either the holding in Opinion No. 68, or 
the statement above quoted. I believe that the age certificates pro­
vided for in Section 10-204, are only to be issued to children of the age 
of sixteen years or older, and further it is my opinion that the purpose 
which such certificates serve will be defeated if they are issued to chil­
dren under the age of sixteen. 

It should be noted that the portion of Section 10-204, which I have 
emphasized, states that "upon obtaining the age of sixteen years any 
child may make application to the Commissioner of Labor and Indus­
try for an age certificate." Thus, it is clear that the Legislative intent 
was that only children of the age of sixteen or older should be issued 
age certificates. 

As stated before, Section 10-201 enumerates certain industries and 
occupations wherein it is illegal to employ children under the age of 
sixteen. The age certificate provided for in Section 10-204, was 
created for the protection of the employers in such speciifed industries 
and occupations. The age certificate is their guaranty that they are not 
violating the law. They can be absolutely certain that every person 
they employ is of the age of sixteen years only if they require the em­
ployees to procure an age certificate from the Department of Agricul­
ture, Labor and Industry. Thus, it is essential that such certificates only 
be issued to children of the age of sixteen years or older. If they are 
issued to children regardless of age the purpose of issuing such cer­
tificates is ignored. 

In addition to the foregoing reason for not issuing an age cer­
tificate to children under the age of sixteen it is also apparent that there 
is no reason whatsoever to issue such certificates to children under the 
age of sixteen. In the industries and occupations listed in Section 
10-201, it is illegal to employ a child under the age of sixteen even 
though he did have a certificate. And in other occupations over which 
the division of labor has no control of the employment of children, 
there is no reason for procuring a certificate since in such occupations 
the employment of children under the age of sixteen is not regulated 
by the laws of the State. 

The observations set forth herein should, of course, be reconciled 
with the provisions of Section 75-2902, Revised Codes of Montana, 1947, 
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which regulate the employment of children under the age of sixteen 
while the public schools are in session. Inasmuch as the provisions of 
such section are not enforced by your department, I did not consider 
them for the purposes of this opinion. 

It is therefore my opinion that the Division of Labor of the Depart­
ment of Agriculture, Labor and Industry should not issue an age cer­
tificate to anyone under the age of sixteen years, regardless of the 
nature of the employment for which such certificate is sought. 

Opinion No. 137 

Very truly yours, 
ARNOLD H. OLSEN, 
Attorney General. 

Highways-State Highway Commission-County Commissioners, 
Power of State Highway Commission to Abandon a State 

Highway or Portion Thereof, Without Joint Order of 
the Board of County Commissioners. 

Held: That the Montana State Highway Commission can abandon a 
State highwaYJ or a portion thereof, as distinguished from a 
County highway, without a joint order of the Board of County 
Commissioners of the County affected. 

Mr. Harry H. Jones, Attorney 
State Highway Commission 
Helena, Montana 

Dear Mr. Jones: 

December 1st. 1950. 

You have requested my opinion on whether or not the Montana 
State Highway Commission has the power to abandon a State High­
way or portion thereof. without joint order of the Board of County Com­
missioners of the County affected. 

At first blush, it would appear that the law requires participation 
by the Board of County Commissioners before a State highway can be 
abandoned because of Section 32-105, Revised Codes of Montana, 1947, 
which reads: 

"32-105. (1614) Abandonment or vacation of highways. All 
public highways once established must continue to be public 
highways until abandoned by operation of law, or by judgment 
of a court of competent jurisdiction, or by the order of the Board of 
County Commissioners of the County in which they are situated; 
but no order to abandon any highway shall be valid unless pre­
ceded by due notice and hearing as provided in this act; and no 
State highway can be abandoned except on the joint order of the 
Board of County Commissioners and the State Highway Commis­
sion." (Emphasis supplied,) 
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