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Opinion No. 16.
Coroner—Fees—Inquests.

The coroner is not entitled to
a $5.00 fee for issuing a death
certificate, but, if, in the exercise

Held:

of his discretion, he determines

an investigation is necessary by
reason of the provisions oi Sec-
tion 12381, Revised Codes of
Montana, 1935, and he makes
such investigation, he is entitled
to a fee of $5.00 per day, plus
mileage.

February 27, 1943.

Mr. J. J. McIntosh
County Attorney
Rosebud County
Forsyth, Montana

Dear Mr. McIntosh:

You state the coroner of your county
has presented a bill against the county
for a five dollar fee for issuing a death
certificate, and, in addition, has charged
five cents per mile for the trip going
to and from the deceased. You ask the
opinion of this office whether this is a
legal charge against the county.

Chapter 9, Laws of 1937 provides a
coroner is entitled to receive five dollars
for each day or fraction of day engaged
in making an investigation relative to
a death, whether an inquest is later held
or not. There is a limitation therein
as to the number of days for which
fees shall be charged, except in counties
of the first, second and third class, and
it is also provided the coroner shall be
paid for each mile actually traveled in
the performance of any duty.

Prior to the enactment of this chap-
ter, it had been held by this office the
coroner was not entitled to charge a
fee in the absence of an inquest and
a separate fee could not be charged
for an investigation; in other words,
the only fee allowable was for an in-
quest. (Report and Official Opinions
of Attorney General, Volume 9, page
296, Volume 10, page 199, Volume 12, -
page 141.)

Section 12381, Revised Codes of Mon-
tana, 1935, originally enacted as Sec-
tion 2790, Penal Code of Montana,
1895, provides when the coroner is in-
formed a person has been killed, or has
committed suicide, or has died under
such circumstances as to afford a rea-
sonable ground to suspect his death
has been occasioned by the act of an-
other by criminal means, he must go
to the place where the body is, cause
it to be exhumed if it has been interred,
and summion a coroner’s jury to inquire
into the cause of death.

As pointed out in Report and Official
Opinions of Attorney General, Volume
12, 141, the duties imposed by Section
12381 are mandatory, and when the
information conveyed to the coroner is
that a person has been killed or com-
mitted suicide, an inquest must be held;
but when the information conveyed
to the coroner covers circumstances
affording a reasonable ground to sus-
pect the death has been occasioned by
the act of another by criminal means,
the coroner has a discretion to deter-
mine whether the facts are sufficient
to afford a reasonable ground for sus-
picion, and he is only compelled to hold
an inquest when reasonable grounds
to suspect a homicide by criminal means
are presented.

However, in exercising his discretion
as indicated in the opinion just cited,
it must be assumed the coroner will
make some investigation to determine
the need of an inquest, and undoubtedly
it was by reason of this fact the legis-
lature provided in Chapter 9, Laws of
1937, that the coroner should be .paid
fees for such investigation.

In Volume 18, Report and Official
Opinions of the Attorney General, page
17, this office gave its opinion as to the
effect of Chapter 9, above, and pointed
out that often an investigation will
obviate the necessity of an inquest and
the added cost incident thereto.

It would appear that in the enactment
of Chapter 9, Laws of 1937, the legis-
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lative thought was that, whenever
the coroner made an investigation, by
reason of the duty cast upon him
by Section 12381, Revised Codes, above,
he would be entitled to a fee and mile-
age, even though he determined an
inquest was not necessary; further, that
the coroner should make the determina-
tion of the need of investigation from
the facts communicated to him cover-
ing any death. If he determined in-
vestigation was necessary, he should
make such investigation.

Consequently, it is my opinion the
coroner is not entitled to a five dollar
fee for issuing a death certificate, but,
if, in the exercise of his discretion, he
determines an investigation is necessary
by reason of the provisions of Section
12381, Revised Codes of Montana, 1935,
and he makes such invesigation, he is
entitled to a fee of five dollars per day,
‘plus mileage.

Sincérely yours,

R. V. BOTTOMLY
Attorney General
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