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the time of sale and the contract of 
sale being accepted or approved 111 

the state of the principal." 

The Supreme Court of the United 
States upheld this principle in the case 
of Crenshaw v. Arkansas, 227 U. S. 389. 

It is apparent that an itinerant vendor 
selling goods under the facts you sub­
mitted does not come within the pro­
visions of Section 2429.19. This office 
so held previously in Volume 10. Re­
port and Official Opin:ions of the At­
torney General, page 203. 

I t is therefore my opinion that a 
license tax cannot be imposed on an 
itinerant vendor who takes orders for 
out of state concerns who ship directly 
to the purchaser and that Section 
2429.19. Revised Codes of Montana, 
1935, does not apply to such a person. 

Sincerely yours, 
R. V. BOTTOML Y 
Attorney General 

Opinion No. 154. 

Soldiers' Burial Expense-Burial Bene­
fits-Counties. 

Held: A county which has paid the 
burial expense of an honorably 
discharged veteran as provided 
in Chapter 52, Laws of 1939, is 
entitled to be reimbursed by 
the county of which the deceased 
veteran was a bona-fide resident 
at the time of his death. A 
county is not liable for the 
burial expense under the pro­
visions of Chapter 52, Laws of 
1939, of an honorably discharged 
veteran who dies within the 
county but was not a bona-fide 
resident of the county or of the 
state of Montana. 

December 7, 1943. 

Mr. K. W. MacPherson 
County Attorney 
Powell Countv 
Deer Lodge, 'Montana 

Dear Mr. Mac Pherson: 

You have requested my op1l110n con­
cerning the following questions: 

I. An honorably discharged vet­
eran died and was buried in Powell 
County, and at the time of his death 
was a resident of Hill County. Powell 

County paid the burial expense in 
the amount of $150.00 and thereupon 
presented a claim to Hill County. Is 
Powell County entitled to reimburse­
ment from Hill County? 

2. An honorably discharged vet­
eran was buried in Powell County 
and at the time of his death he was 
not a bona fide resident of Powell 
County or of the State of Montana 
although his father and brother were 
residents of Powell County. Should 
Powell County pay the claim for 
burial expenses? 

In answering your first question. it 
is necessary to consider the provisions 
of Chapter 52, Laws of 1939. which pro­
vides that "the expense of burial shall 
be the sum of one hundred fifty dollars 
($150.90) .. to be paid by the county 
commIssIoners of the county in which 
the deceased was actual bona fide resi­
dent at the time of death .... " It is 
apparent from this that Hill Countv 
is the county that should be chargeel 
with the burial expense under the facts 
presented. However, Powell County is 
the county that paid the claim and 
must look to Hill County for reim­
bursement. It would constitute unjust 
enrichment if Powell County were 
precluded from recovering from Hill 
County. This principle has been recog­
nized in great weight of authority and 
where a statutory duty has been dis­
charged and m'oney paid out by another. 
recovery has been allowed on the theor\' 
of a contract implied in law. (Davis ,;. 
Seymour, 59 Conn. 531. 21 A. 1004. 13 
L. R. A. 210; :'1aryland Casualty Co. v. 
H. A. Moss & Son, 276 Mich. 219, 267 
N. W. 819.) 

It would have been better practice 
for the claim to have been presenterl 
rlirectly to Hill Countv as the deceased 
was a resident ·of Hill County, but 
Powell County having- discharg-ed the 
statutory duty should be entitled to 
reimbursemen t. 

It is to be noted the second paragraph 
of Section 1. Chapter 52, Laws of 
1939. provides for a situation where 
the veteran is absent from the county 
of his residel1('e at the time of death, 
stating that the act applies, and in 
effect stating in such situation the vet­
erans' burial supervisor of the countv 
of death may take charge of the burial 
ill the same manner as he would bad 
such deceased person died within the 
county of his residence (which I under-
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stand is the situation covered by your 
request for opinion). Further, in such 
situation "the burial expenses not ex­
ceeding the amount herein specified 
shall be paid in the same manner as 
above provided," i. e., "by the county 
commissioners of the county in which 
deceased was a bona fide resident at 
time of death." 

In answering your second question, 
it is necessary again to refer to Chapter 
52, Laws of 1939, and observe that one 
of the requirements for eligibility to the 
payment of burial expense is that the 
deceased be an actual "bona fide resi­
dent at the time of death" of the 
county. Under the facts you presented 
the deceased veteran was not a resident 
of any county of Montana or of the 
State of Montana and the fact that he 
had relatives in Montana is immaterial. 
The fact that the deceased was not a 
resident of Montana precludes any valid 
claim being filed for burial expense in 
any county in Montana. 

It is therefore my opinion: 

1. A county which has paid the 
burial expense of an honorably dis­
charged veteran as provided in Chap­
ter 52, Laws of 1939, is entitled to 
be reimbursed by the county of which 
the deceased veteran was a bona fide 
resident at the time of his death. 

2. A county is not liable for the 
burial expense under the provisions 
of Chapter 52, Laws of 1939, of an 
honorably discharged veteran who 
dies within the county but was not 
a bona fide resident of the county 
or of the State of Montana. 

Sincerely yours, 
R. V. BOTTOML Y 
Attorney General 

Opinion No. 155. 

University of Montana-State College 
-Fees to be Paid by Honorably Dis­

charged Servicemen. 

Held: Under Chapter 194, Laws of 
1943, student who is honorably 
discharged veteran reI e a sed 
from paying matriculation and 
registration fee only. 

December 8, 1943. 

Dr. E. O. Melby, Chancellor 
Montana State University 
Missoula, Montana 

Dear Dr. Melby: 

You have requested of this office an 
opinion relative to what fees should be 
charged to a person eligible to the 
benefits of Chapter 194, Laws of 1943. 

You state that a student registering 
at Montana State College for the first 
time ordinarily pays the following 
yearly amounts: 

Matricullation fee .............. $ 5.00 
Registration fee ................ 45.00 
Deposit for breakage........ 10.00 
Building fee ........................ 15.00 
Student Activities ............ 15.75 
Year Book .......................... 3.25 
Student Union Building 

Maintenance charge .... 3.50 
Health charge .................... 9.00 

Total - - - $106.50 

Chapter 194, Laws of 1943, provides: 

"All honorably discharged persons 
who serve with the United States 
forces in any of its wars and who 
were bona fide residents of the State 
of Montana at the time of their entry 
into said United States forces shall 
have free fees and tuition'in any and 
all units of the university of Mon­
tana, including the law and medical 
departments, and for extra studies 
in any of the units of the university 
of Montana." 

You state that the $10.00 deposit is 
for loss or breakage of laboratory 
equipment, and if no charges are turned 
in during the year, the full amount is 
refunded to the student at the end of 
the school year. On the other hand, 
if the deposit is insufficient to cover 
the charges the student must pay the 
additional amount. I am led to believe 
from your correspondence that this fee 
is only charged to students that take 
laboratory courses. Under those cir­
cumstances, I would say that this fee 
would not come within the purview of 
the above mentioned chapter. See in 
this respect City of New Orleans vs. 
Board of Adm. of Tulane. 49 So. 171. 

The building fee of $15.00 is used to 
pay interest and principal on bonds 
issued for the construction of the 
student union building and is irre­
vocably pledged' to this use prior to 
the passage of the above mentioned 
chapter; therefore, this charge cannot 
be waived by the legislature. Section 
11 of Article III, Constitution of Mon­
tana. 
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