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right to vote, or with such restric­
tions on its voting power as the 
articles or incorporation may pre­
scribe .... " 

I n the same year Kansas added the 
above provision to its laws. California 
amended its cooperative marketing 
association statute comparable to our 
Section 6441 and Kansas' Section 17-
1613 by removing this language: 

"Any association organized with 
stock under this act may issue pre­
ferred stock. . ." 

Although I have attempted to de­
termine what caused the amendments 
by the legislatures of Kansas and Cali­
fornia abQve-noted, I have been un­
able to di~tover a court decision or 
attorney general's opinion from either 
jurisdiction which could be cited as 
cause for the legislatures' actions. It 
is at once apparent, however, the legis­
latures of both states deemed it neces­
sary for specific authority to be grant­
ed before cooperative marketing asso­
cia tions could issue preferred shares 
of stock. 

While I am aware legislative inter­
pretation of acts of sister states which 
are similar to statutes of Montana is 
not binding on this office or on the 
judiciary of Montana, I am nonethe­
less impressed by the actions of the 
legislatures of Kansas and California 
as indicative of their conclusions with 
regard to issuance of preferred shares 
by cooperative marketing associations. 
. Our legislature has dealt similarly 
with cooperative associations in Chap­
ter 38 of Volume 3. Revised Codes of 
Montana, 1935 (not to be confused 
with cooperative marketing associa­
tions here under discussion, which are 
the subject of Chapter 40 of the same 
v 0 I u m e). Cooperative associations 
were given this power by Section 6381, 
Revised Codes of Montana. 1921: 

"The shares of stock shall not be 
less than ten dollars nor more than 
five thousand dollars per share, and 
may be made payable in install­
ments. and every cooperative asso­
ciation may divide its shares bf 
stock into classes of. different par 
values. and the owners thereof shall 
share in the profits of the associa­
tion in proportion to the par value 
of lhf'ir shares; provided. however, 
that the owners of the said shares in 

the different classes shall have the 
same power and vote in the associa­
tion .... " 

But Chapter 135, Laws of 1933, 
amended the above language. and to­
day Section 6381, Revised Codes of 
:'I-iontana, 1935, provides so far as per­
tinent here: 

"The shares of stock shall not be 
less than ten dollars ($10.00) nor 
more than five thousand dollars 
($5,000.00) per share, and may be 
made payable in installments. Every 
cooperative association may divide 
its shares of stock into preferred and 
com m 0 n stock ... " (Emphasis 
mine.) 
Thus, in dealing with cooperative 

associations, as distinguished from co­
operative marketing associations, our 
legislature felt a specific grant of au­
thority necessary to authorize the is­
suance of preferred shares. 

Therefore, it is my opinion coopera­
tive marketing associations. organized 
under Chapter 40 of Volume 3, Re­
vised Codes of Montana. 1935. may not 
amend their articles of incorporation 
to permit the issuance of preferred 
shares of stock. Specific authority by 
legislative act is necessary. 

Sincerely yours, 
R. V. BOTTOML Y 
Attorney General 

Opinion No. 128. 

Juvenile Delinquents - Commitments 
Juvenile Delinquents-State Industrial 

School, age when child may be 
accepted. 

Held: Child under twelve years can­
not be committed to State I n­
dustrial School. If commit­
ment shows child is twelve 
years of age at time of CO!11-

mitment. he should be received 
in State T ndustrial School. 

September 22. 1943. 

:'Ifr. Carl :'11. Horn 
President 
:vrontana SOtt' Industrial School 
:'Ililes City, :\{ontana 

Dear Mr. Horn: 

You request l11y opinion whether a 
child under the age of twelve years 
may be admitted to your school. 
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Section 2, Chapter 156, Laws of 1943, 
provides: 

"Said school (~Iontana State In­
dustrial School) shall be for the 
keeping and reformatory training of 
all male youths between the ages of 
twelve (12) and twenty-one (21) 
years, who are residents of the State 
of Montana and who have been reg­
ularly committed to said school by a 
duly authorized court ... " 

This was an amendment to Section 
12494. Revised Codes of Montana, 1935, 
specifying the age limits as eight to 
twenty-one years of age. 

The 1943 Session also enacted new 
juvenile delinquency legislation. (Chap­
ter '227, Laws of 1943.) This new 
legislation covers much the same 
ground as Sections 12275 to 12301, Re­
vised' Codes of Montana, 1935. While 
the cited sections of the code must be 
construed, when occasion arises, to 
have been superseded by Chapter 277, 
Laws of 1943, it is significant the new 
chapter does not specifically repeal 
any of the sections contained in Sec­
tions 12275 to 12301, Revised Codes 
of 1fontana, 1935, the only repeal 
clauses being the usual one to the 
effect all acts and parts of acts in 
conflict therewith are repealed. The 
result is the parts of Sections 12275 
to 12301, Revised Codes of Montana, 
1935, which are not in conflict with 
any part of Chapter 227, Laws of 1943, 
are still in effect. 

Chapter 227, Laws of 1943, is not in 
conflict with the portion of Section 
12288, Revised Codes of ~f ontana, 
1935, providing: 

"If any child is wayward and un­
manageable the court may commit 
him or her to the industrial school, 
or to any other state penal or re­
formatory institution authorized by 
law to receive such boy or girl sub­
ject to such conditions as are al­
ready provided by law for the re­
ception of such children in said 
school or institution." 

I t is thus seen, the power of the 
Court to commit is limited to those in­
stances where your institution is au­
thorized by law to receive the child, 
and by the particular limitation con­
tained in Section 2. Chapter 156, :haws 
of 1943. your institution is limited to 
youths between the ages of twelve 

years and twenty-one years, who are 
residents of the State of Montana. 

The rule is laid down in 31 C. ]". 
1102, that children who may be com­
mitted must fall within the classifica­
tion established by law; it is within the 
power of the legislature to classify 
persons by their age, and when such 
power is exercised, the infant must 
fall within the age prescribed by statute, 
in order to be subject to its provisions. 

Section 11, Chapter 227, Laws of 
1943, provides: 

"Whenever under any of the pro­
visions of this Act the court shall 
order any delinquent child com­
mitted to the Montana state indus­
trial school, the form of commit­
ment shall be that prescribed:by Sec­
tion.12503, Revised Codes of Mon-
tana, 1935." . 

Section 12503, Revised Codes of 
Montana, 1935, provides the order of 
commitment, to be signed by the com­
mitting judge, making it the duty of 
"the judge to make a judicial finding 
as to the age of the child. This com­
mitment must be delivered to you be­
fore a child can be received in your 
institution. 

The rule laid down in 31 C. J. 1112 
is that if the Court has jurisdiction 
in the premises, the judgment, order, 
or decree is final, as to all parties to 
the proceeding on the same state of 
facts, and not subject to collateral at­
tack. 

I t is to be noted by a reference to 
Section 3 of Chapter 227, Laws of 
1943, when jurisdiction has been ob­
tained by the Court in the case of any 
child, such child continues under the 
jurisdiction of the Court until he be­
comes twenty-one years of age, unless 
discharged prior thereto. Further, by 
Section 8, .10 and 12, the Court has a 
large 'measure of discretion in the dis­
position to be made of the child, and 
must not necessarily commit the child 
to an institution upon the hearing, but 
may make such disposition of the child 
as is provided in the sections, and 
may from time to time modify any or­
der made. By reason of these provi­
sions, the Court may, when deemed 
proper modify an order which does 
not commit a child to your institu­
tion and commit such child thereto; 
however, the same situation would 
prevail as above set forth. That is, if 
a prior order is modified so as to com-
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mit the child to your institution, the 
modification must be subject to the 
age limit of twelve years. 

It would, therefore, follow that your 
institution has no authority to accept 
a child under the age of twelve years. 
However, if the commitment delivered 
to you at the time of the delivery of the 
child shows the child to be twelve years 
of age at that time, you should accept 
the child. If the commitment shows 
the child to be under that age you 
should refuse to accept the child. 

Sincerely yours, 
R. V. BOTTOMLY 

. Attorney General 

Opinion No. 129. 

Taxation-Government land becomes 
subject to taxation, when-Refund of 

taxes erroneously collected. 

Held: Government land becomes sub­
ject to taxation when right to 
patent is complete and equitable 
title fully vested in entryman. 
Taxes erroneously collected may 
be refunded, if claim therefor 
is made within time provided 
by Chapter 201, Laws of 1939. 

September 22, 1943. 
Mr. W. W. Mercer 
County Attorney 
Golden Valley County 
Ryegate, Montana 

Dear Mr. Mercer: 

You have asked my opinion as to the 
legality of certain claims made for re­
fund of taxes paid on land from the 
years 1922 to 1942, inclusive, it appear­
ing the land was not privately owned, 
but owned by the government until 
issuance of a patent in June, 1942. 

As you will note from the opinion 
appearing at page 117, Volume 2, Re­
port and Official Opinions of the At­
torney General, land comprising a part 
of the public domain becomes subject 
to state taxation when the right to 
a patent is complete and the equitable 
title fully vested in the entryman, even 
though patent has not yet been issued. 
Therefore, you should ascertain from 
the land office the exact date when 
the entryman's right to patent became 
complete, and any taxation levied on 
the land subsequent thereto would be 
valid. 

Section 2222, Revised Codes of Mon­
tana, 1935, as amended by Chapter 201, 
Laws of 1939, provides: 

"Any taxes, percentum and costs, 
heretofore or hereafter, paid more 
than once or erroneously or illegally 
collected, may, by order of the county 
commissioners, be refunded by the 
county treasurer." 

The Supreme _ Court has heretofore 
passed on the section in the following 
cases: First National Bank v. Sanders 
County, 85 Mont. 450, 279 Pac. 247; 
First National Bank of Lima v. Beaver­
head County,. 88 Mont. 577, 294 Pac. 
956; Williams v. Harvey, 91 Mont. 168, 
6 Pac. (2nd) 418, and Christofferson v. 
Chouteau County, 105 Mont. 577, 74 
Pac. (2nd) 427. ' 

In the last cited case, it appears that 
Christofferson took an assignment of 
a tax sale certificate, which had no 
validity by reason of the fact the tax 
covered state land. In the course of 
the opinion, the Court reviewed the 
prior decisions, and concluded the sec­
tion of the statute in question permitted 
the refund of taxes erroneously paid, 
citing a Nevada and South Dakota 
decision, holding in effect that an er­
roneous assessment occurs when the 
taxing officers have power to act, but 
err in the exercise of that power; an 
illegal assessment taking place when 
there is no power at all. 

The facts submitted by you are simi­
lar to those in the Christofferson case; 
in your case, when some of the taxes, 
at least, were assessed and paid, the 
government owned land; in the Chris­
tofferson case, the state owned the land. 

It would, therefore, appear that taxes 
assessed and collected on the land in 
question, prior to the time when the 
entryman became entitled to patent, 
were erroneously assessed and collected, 
and are subject to refund by the board 
of county commissioners, providing 
claim therefor was made within time. 

Chapter 201, Laws of 1939, specifically 
provides: 

"No order for the refund of any 
taxes, percentum or costs under this 
section shall be made except upon 
a claim therefor, verified by the per­
son who has paid such tax, penalty 
or costs, or his guardian, or in case 
of his death by his executor or ad­
ministrator, which claim must be 
filed within two years after the date 
when the second half of such taxes 
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