OPINIONS OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL 17

Opinion No. 12.

Motor Vehicles—Suspension of Opera-
tor’s License——Property Damage.

Held: Suspension of motor vehicle op-
erator’s license under the pro-
visions of Chapter 129, Laws
of 1937. .

January 28, 1943.

Mr. John E. Henry
Registrar of Motor Vehicles
Deer Lodge, Montana

Dear Mr., Henry:

The statement of facts arc as follows:
X was adjudged in Justice of the Peace
Court to have caused property damage
in the amount of $97.50 resulting from
the ownership, maintenance, use or
operation of a motor vehicle. Costs
assessed against X total $12.50. Inas-
much as Chapter 129, Laws of 1937,
provides an operator’s license shall be
suspended by the Registrar of Motor
Vehicles in the event of such operator’s
failure within thirty days to satisfy any
judgment for damages to property in
excess of one hundred dollars, resulting
from the ownership, maintenance, use
or operation of a motor vehicle, you
inquire whether or not the registrar,
under the above facts, should suspend
X’s license.

If the $12.50 costs assessed against
X are to be added to the damage of
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$97.50, which he was found to have
caused, and the resultant sum of $110.00
used as the basis for examining the
above quoted provisions of the law,
then X’s license must inevitably be
suspended. But if the sum of $97.50—
the amount of damages to the property
—is allowed to stand alone, and the
$12.50 costs may not be added, then
X’s license may not be suspended for
the amount of actual damages is $97.50,
just $2.50 below the fateful $100.00 used
in the statute.

California and several other states
have financial responsibility laws sim-
ilar to our Chapter 129, Laws of 1937.
The California provision in regard to
suspension of an operator’s license for
failure of such operator to satisfy a
judgment for damage to property is
identical to our law. But no cases in-
volving the particular question here
before us appear ever to have arisen.

It is the well established rule in Mon-
tana that the meaning of a given term
employed in a statute must be measured
and controlled by the connection in
which it is employed, the evident pur-
pose of the state, and the subject to
which it relates. (State ex rel. Free-
man v. Abstract Board of Examiners,
99 Mont. 564, 45 Pac. (2nd) 668.)

Hence, it appears to me this question
is easily "and simply settled by a close
exammatlon of the words emphasized
in Section 3 of Chapter 129, Laws of
1937. Itis stated the license shall be sus-
pended in the event of the operator’s
failure within thirty days ‘“to satisfy
any judgment . . . for damages on ac-
count of personal injury, including
death, or damage to property in excess
of one hundred dollars ($100.00) . . .”
It appears apparent the legislature was
saymg, “You who drive automobiles,
and in using them cause property dam-
age in excess of one hundred dollars
must be able to pay for your act within
thirty days—or you will not be allowed
to drive. You must be financially re-
sponsible, so that you may respond for
your negligence.”

The act does not appear to be punitive
in purpose, but rather protective of the
rights of the people as a whole. The
hundred dollar figure, used as a measur-
ing stick for the amount of property
damage, is low enough so that a motor
vehicle operator cannot become ob-
livious to the property rights of others
but high enough so that he will not
be in danger of having his license sus-

pended for every bumper or fender he
scratches.

“In considering questions or juris-
diction, the amount of the costs forms
no part of the matter in dispute. . ..”
(Payne v. Davis, 2 Mont. 381.)

I am of the opinion the actual proper-
ty damage must be in excess of one
hundred dollars ($100.00) before license
is suspended under the provisions of
Chapter 129, Laws of 1937. Costs may
not be added to the damages in order
to have a total figure exceeding one
hundred dollars.

Sincerely yours,

R. V. BOTTOMLY
Attorney General


cu1046
Text Box




