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"This objection is wholly without merit. This statute is intended 
solely as a police regulation and was never intended to establish an 
exclusive method of transfer of title to an automobile." 

From a' reading of the statutes and the case above quoted, I believe 
·the Motor Vehicle Act was primarily intended as a police regulation and 
the term "dealer"-as defined therein-applies only to persons who are 
primarily engaged in the business of buying and selling automobiles,' 
either new or second-hand. I do not believe a person who acquires title 
to an automobile by legal process, such as the foreclosure of a mortgage 
or by writ of execution, is a buyer of the automobile as the term buyer 
is used in the Motor Vehicle Act. Neither do I. believe a person or cor­
poration who is engaged in the business of loaning money and who, in 
the collection of a loan, acquires title to an automobile can be said to be 
in the business of buying, selling or exchanging motor vehicles. However, 
if such loan company-in disposing of cars so acquired-takes in a car 
in trade, it would then be a dealer and would be required to have a license. 

It is therefore my opinion any person or corporation whose primary 
purpose is the loaning of money and who secures title to an automobile 
in the process of collecting the loan is not a dealer as defined by the Motor 
Vehicle Act and need not have the license provided for in either Section 
1760 or 1763.6, Revised Codes of Montana, 1935 in order to sell the said 
automobile. 

Sincerely yours, 

No. 242 

JOHN W. BONNER 
Attorney General 

MONTANA STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS­
DENTAL EXAMINERS, MONTANA STATE BOARD OF­

DENTISTS 

Held: The Board cannot legally appropriate moneys from the treasury 
to the individual or groups of dentists, but such funds must be 
allowed to accumulate so they will accrue to the benefit and ad­
vantage of all dentists. 

The only persons eligible to apply for certificates as registered 
dental assistants are those who were employed in the office of a 
regularly licensed dentist in the State of Montana for one or more 
years prior to February 23, 1935, and it is discretionary with the 
Board whether such persons shall be granted a certificate. 

Mr. Leonard A. Jenkin, Secretary 
Montana State Board of Dental Examiners 
401 Ford Building 
Great Falls, Montana 

Dear Doctor Jenkin: 

September 13, 1941. 

You have heretofore written to this office as follows: 

"The Montana State Board of Dental Examiners .through t.his 
office respectfully requests your instructions and your mterpretahon 
of one or two points or clauses of the Montana Dentistry Regulation 
Act. 

"It is not unusual for an individual dentist or a group of dentists 
to ask for sums of money frol1.1 the treasury of the Board for pur­
poses not always clear to the membership of the Board. The request 
may be for making a gift to some organization or institution, or it 
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may be for the purpose of disseminating dental health publicity to 
the general public through magazines, radio programs, etc. At the 
present time the Board has been asked to match a sum of five hun­
dred dollars ($500.00) set aside by the Montana State Dental Asso­
ciation for educational purposes. Since the funds of the Board are 
derived from an annual registration fee of four dollars ($4.00) paid 
by all Montana dentists, as well as as examination fee of fifty dollars 
($50.00) paid by all applicants to obtain licenses, the question arises: 
Can we legally appropriate funds from the treasury to individuals or 
groups of dentists, such as the Montana Dental Association whose 
membership numerically is represented by approximately one-half of 
the Montana dental roster, or should the funds be allowed to accumu­
late so that they would accrue to the benefit and advantage of all 
Montana dentists as per Section 6 of the dental statutes? 

"We would like to know if there is a statute of limitations gov­
erning the time girls and women may apply for licenses to practice 
dental hygiene, or are we required to issue licenses at any time some 
persons may remember they worked in a dental office prior to the 
passage of the present law passed and approved February 23, 1935? 
Does the privilege of becoming registered prevail indefinitely by fur­
nishing satisfactory evidence or have we the authority to set a date?" 

Section 3115.6, Revised Codes of Montana, 1935, provides in substance 
all dentists practicing in Montana shall pay a license fee of $50.00 and 
in addition thereto shall pay annually the sum of $4.00 as a license fee, 
provided, however, that the board shall have the right to reduce the 
annual license fee of $4.00 to the sum of $1.00 or more (but not in excess 
of $4.00) per year when the amount of the balance of cash in the hands 
of the secretary-treasurer reaches the sum of $4000.00, it being the intent 
of this act that said funds shall be maintained at an approximate level of 
$4000.00. 

Section 3115.23 in effect provides any dental assistant who can produce 
satisfactory evidence such person has been employed as a dental hygienist 
in the office of a regularly licensed dentist in the state of Montana for one 
or more years prior to the passage of the act may, upon the payment of 
the fee of $10.00, be granted a certificate to practice by the state dental 
board. 

The board has only such power as is given it by statute. It must point 
to some statutory provision for its authority to act. "The power to act 
without authority does not exist." (See State ex reI. Bean v. Lyons, 37 
Mont. 354, 364, 96 Pac. 922.) The only authority of the board of dental 
examiners with reference to the use of its funds is found in Section 3115.9, 
Revised Codes of Montana, 1935, wherein, after providing for the payment 
of per diem and expenses of board members in attending meetings of the 
board, it is provided: 

"All moneys received from any source in excess of expenses and 
salaries above provided for, shall be held by the secretary-treasurer 
of said board as a special fund for meeting the expenses of said board, 
the proper administration of this act and for such educational pur­
poses as may be deemed wise by said board. All moneys on hand 
shall be invested or deposited under direction of the board, and all 
moneys received by the board under this act shall be and remain 
subject to its exclusive custody and controL" 

Therefore, the only use of funds authorized by statute is the payment 
of expenses and per diem of board members for educational purposes and 
for the administration of the act. All other money must be deposited or 
invested. There is no authority for the use of money in donations. 

It is therefore my opinion, in view of the language employed in the 
foregoing Section 3115.6, the Montana State Board of Dental Examiners 
cannot legally appropriate funds from the treasury of said board to 
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individuals or groups of dentists, but the funds must be allowed to accumu­
late until they approximate $4000.00; and then it is mandatory upon the 
board to reduce the annual license fees to an amount not less than $1.00 
per year. 

It is my further opinion, in view of the provisions of Section 3115.23, 
the privilege of becoming a registered dental assistant is not a privilege 
of which everyone can avail himself. The only persons privileged to 
apply for registration as dental assistants are those who were regularly 
employed as dental hygienists in the offices of regularly licensed dentists 
in the state of Montana for one or more years prior to the passage of the 
act, which became a law on February 23, 1935. This applies to any date 
prior to February 23, 1935, and the board has no authority to regulate 
otherwise. It is also my opinion those who are qualified to apply need not 
necessarily be admitted by the board because the statute uses the word 
"may." This indicates the board has discretionary powers in the matter. 

Sincerely yours, 

No. 243 

JOHN W. BONNER 
Attorney General 

INTERDICTION, procedure for - LIQUOR CON T R 0 L 
BOARD-COURTS, jurisdiction of in interdiction proceedings. 

Held: 1. Any person desiring to have another declared an interdict can 
file a petition in district court and thereupon the judge issues 
an order which can be served by a peace officer and the accused 
person is brought before the judge for examination. If the 
judge is satisfied, he may make an order of interdiction which 
will cancel the permit held by such person and prohibit the 
sale of liquor to him. 

2. In such proceeding the county attorney should not act in his 
official capacity unless asked to do so by the judge. 

:\'Ir. Roland V. Colgrove 
County Attorney 
Musselshell County 
Roundup, Montana 

Dear Mr. Colgrove: 

September 17, 1941. 

Recently you wrote this office in part as follows: 

"Will you please advise me, first, if an action to have a person 
declared an interdict should be brought by the County Attorney in 
his official capacity, or is it a private action? Second, if the action 
should be brought by the County Attorney, should the person sought 
to be declared to be an interdict be brought into court, and if so, by 
what form of process and on how much notice? Third, should the 
action be instituted in Justice Court as indicated in State v. Wiles, 
98 Mont. 577?" 

Sections 2815.126 to 2815.130, inclusive, Revised Codes of Montana, 
1935, and Chapter 166, Laws of 1935 relate to the matter of interdiction. 
These sections provide as follows: 

"Section 2815.126. Interdiction-order of-efi'ect-disposal of liquor 
of interdicted person. (1) Where it is made to appear to the satis­
faction of any court that any person, resident or sojourning within the 
state, by excessive drinking of liquor, misspends, wastes, or lessens 
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