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in the budget for the payment of the premium warrant may be 
issued therefor under the provisions of the second paragraph 
of section 6 of the budget act. 

Mr. Grant Bakewell, 
County Attorney, 

Plentywood, Montana. 

My dear Mr. Bakewell: 

March 11, 1931. 

You have sent me a copy of proposed resolutions relative to making 
provision in the budget for the payment of a premium on the official 
bond of the county treasurer of Sheridan county. 

In my opinion, the payment of this premium is a mandatory expen­
diture required by law within the meaning of the second paragraph of 
section 6 of chapter 148, laws of 1929, as the law requires the premium 
to be paid by the county if a surety bond is given by the county treas­
urer. This being so, the procedure provided in such cases in said second 
paragraph of said section 6 should be followed rather than the one con­
templated by you, which is based upon the public emergency clause 
found in the first paragraph of said section 6. 

Very truly yours, 

L. A. FOOT, 
Attorney General. 

Investment Commissioner - Investment Company - Li­
censes-Fees. 

The investment commissioner should collect a filing fee 
of $2.50 from each investment company for each annual or 
special statement filed by them. There is no fee for issuing 
permits to do business nor does the law require a license or 
permit to be renewed each year. 

Mr. George P. Porter, March 11, 1931. 
State Auditor and ex-officio Investment Commissioner, 

Helena, Montana. 

My dear Mr. Porter: 

I have your request for an opinion. 
Your first inquiry is whether a company which has been licensed by 

your department under the investment law must pay a filing fee of $2.50 
when you require them to file special reports or statements, or whether 
they are required to pay the filing fee only when they file their annual 
statement. 

Section 4041, R. C. M. 1921, requires every investment company or 
stockbroker licensed under the investment law to file at the close of 
business December 31 of each year, "and such other times as required 
by the investment commissioner," a statement of its financial condition, 
and that "each such statement" shall be accompanied by a filing fee 
of $2.50. 
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It is my opinion that under this section this filing fee applies to 
the special statements required by the investment commissioner as well 
as to the annual statements, and if this was the only law upon the sub­
ject at the present time I would so hold without further discussion, but 
in 1929 the legislature by section 5 of chapter 179 of the session laws 
of that Year amended section 4050, R. C. M. 1921, by which it is provided 
that certain enumerated fees shall be paid to the investment commis­
sioner, among which is found, "The fee for filing the annual statement 
of an investment company as stockholder shall be Two Dollars and Fifty 
Cents ($2.50), as provided by section 4041." 

It will be noted that no mention is made of a fee for filing special 
statements though they may be required to be filed under the terms of 
said section 4041. 

If said section 4050 as amended could be held to be an enumeration 
of all the fees chargeable by the commissioner it would, of course, bar 
the charging of a filing fee of $2.50 for special statements filed under 
the provisions of section 4041. However, it will be observed that section 
4043 requires the payment of an examination fee and no mention is 
made of this in section 4050 as amended. It is apparent that by the enact­
ment of the last mentioned section that the legislature did not contem­
plate enumerating all the fees therein which the commissioner could 
charge under other sections of the law; otherwise the examination fee 
would have been included in the enumeration. It appears to me that 
section 4050 as amended only intended to cover those fees which are 
chargeable to all investment companies and stockbrokers who came under 
the act and which must be paid as a matter of course by reason of their 
operation thereunder, and that it does not include those fees which are 
chargeable under other provisions of the law under special circumstances 
arising in connection with the affairs of individual companies or stock­
brokers operating under the act. 

Therefore, it is my opinion that· a filing fee of $2.50 may be charged 
for filing the special statements as well as for filing the annual state­
ments. 

You also inquire if there is any fee to be paid for the permit that 
is issued by you to an investment company doing business in this state 
under said law. Said section 4050 as amended provides that each invest­
ment company licensed under the act and selling securities as defined 
in section 4027 must pay each year a fee based upon the total assets of 
such investment company and a schedule is provided in said section for 
the determination of the fee. This is an annual fee-not a fee for the 
issuance of the permit. The fee is not chargeable until after the permit 
has been issued and the annual statement has been filed. I find nothing 
in the act which could be denominated a fee for issuing the permit. 

You also inquire if the license or permit must be renewed each year. 
I do not find anything in the law which provides for an annual renewal 
thereof. 

Very truly yours, 
L. A. FOOT, 

Attorney ~neral. 




