
210

210 OPINIONS OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL 

subsidy, or otherwise, to any individual, association, or cor­
poration, or become a subscriber to or shareholder in, any 
company or corporation, or a joint owner with any person, 
company or corporation, except as to such ownership as may 
accrue to the state by operation or provis'ion of law." 

It is, therefore, my opinion that, for the reasons hereinbefore 
stated, that part of Section 1870, R. C. M. 1921, which requires the 
state to pay to the county the county taxes levied upon the interest 
of a purchaser of school lands after the state has terminated that 
interest by cancellation of the certificate of purchase, is unconst'itu­
tional and void, and that the state is not required to make said pay­
ments as provided in said statute. 

Very truly yours, 

WELLINGTON D. RANKIN, 
Attorney General. 

Fees-Mileage-Witnesses. 

Witnesses coming from without the state to attend a 
criminal trial and testify therein are entitled to mileage only 
from the state line to the place of trial, both coming to and 
going from the place of trial, but are not entitled to ex­
penses incurred without the state. 

James L. Hillier, Esq., 
Chairman Board of County Commiss'ioners, 
Superior, Montana. 

My dear Mr. Hillier: 

You have submitted to this office the question as to whether a 
complaining witness in a criminal case who motored to California 
and returned to Super'ior for trial is entitled to expenses from Cali­
fornia to the state line and mileage from the state line to Superior. 

In the case of Chilcott v. Rea, 52 Mont. 134, 140, the Court had 
before it the question of allowing witness fees and mileage outside 
of the state in a civil case. The Court in that case said: 

"Among the costs allowed to the pla'intiff is an item of 
$67.70 for mileage of a witness who came to Billings from 
Topeka, Kansas, to testify. The record shows that he came 
by way of Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railway, which is 
the most direct route, and which leaves the state at a point 
105 mile,s from Billings. The claim is that this mileage should 
have been reduced to $21, without any allowance for 'hotel 
bill, sleeper, expenses and railroad fare.' We think this is 
correct. The only costs allowed the successful litigant on 
account of witnesses are their 'legal fees, including mileage' 
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(Rev. Codes, Sec. 7169), and these are: For each day of at­
tendance, $3; for mileage 'in traveling to and from the place 
of trial, 10 cents per mile. (Rev. Codes, Sec. 3182.) While 
Section 3182 itself expresses no restrictions, and while the 
authorities are in conflict as to whether in civil actions mile­
age, is allowable beyond the state line, we are nevertheless 
convinced that since recoverable costs are always limited to 
such as are necessarily incurred, and since the process of this 
state has no validity beyond its boundaries, and since ample 
provisions e·xist for taking the depositions of witnesses who 
reside without the state, the m'ileage allowable in civil actions 
as contemplated by the sections above referred to is mileage 
within the state. (11 Cyc. 120; 7 Ann. Cas. 164.)" 
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While there would seem to be more reason for allowing a witness 
mileage who attends a criminal trial from without the state than in 
a civil case, by reason of the fact that a deposition could not be, used 
against the defendant, yet he is not obliged to attend where served 
without the state, and in my opinion WOUld, therefore, be entitled only 
to mileage from the state line, going and coming. 

Very truly yours, 

WELLINGTON D. RANKIN, 
Attorney General. 

Chiropractor-License-Penalty. 

Where a chiropractor fails. to pay the license fee pro­
vided for in Section 3149, Revised Codes of Montana, 1921, 
the penalty provided for therein can only be collected in a 
court proceeding where an action is brought and a judg­
ment obtained. 

Dr. F. G. Moore, 
Sec.-Treas. State Board of Chiropractic Examiners, 
Missoula, Montana. 

My dear Dr. Moore: 

You have subm'itted to me the, following question arising out of 
the failure of a practitioner to pay his license fee of $5.00 when due 
and whether you are justified in imposing a penalty of $15.00 where 
he, is in default under Section 3149, Revised Codes of 1921. You state 
the following proposition: 

"A certa'in chiropractor defaulted in the payment of his 
renewal fee until after the expiration of the period of grace, 
as provided, on October first. When notified that his license 
had lapsed for non-payment of the regular fee, he sent $5.00 
which was returned to him, as has been the custom of this 
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