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Compensation for Deaths After Six Months. 
Compensation should be paid on account of death occur­

. ring six months after the happening of the accident" such 
accident being the proximate cause of the death. 

Industrial Accident Board, 
Helena, Montana. 

Gentlemen: 

Jan. 12th, 1918: 

You have requested my opinion upon the question of' whether or 
not a surviving widow can claim compensation in case an employee re­
ceives an injury which caUSES his death sutsequent to six months fol­
lowing the happening of the accident, such accident being the proximate 
cause of his death. 

By Sec. 6 (k) of the Act, "injury" means and shall include death, 
resulting from injury. Section 12 (a) of the Act is as follows: 

"If an injured Employe dies and the injury was the proxi­
mate cause of such death, then the beneficiary or the major or 
minor dependents of the deceased," as the case may be, shall re­
ceive the same compensaticn as though the death occurred im­
mediately following the injury, but the period during which the 
death benefit Ehall be paid shall be reduced during, or for 
which compensation was paid for the injury." 

By Sec. 16 (e), if death occurs within six months of the happening 
of the injury, there shall be paid, in addition to o:her compensation, 
the reasonable burial expenses of the employee not exceeding $75. Sec. 
16 (h) of the Act provides in part as follows: 

"Compensation for all classes of injuries shall run consecu­
tively and not concurrently, and as follows: First, the two 
weeks' medical and hospital services and medicines as provided 
in Section 16 (f), unless the employee is a contributor to a hos­
pital fund, as otherwise in this Act provided; after the first two 
weeks, compensation as provided in Section 16 (a), or 16 (b), 
or 16 (c); following, either or none of the above, compensation 
as provided in Section 16 (i); following any or either, or none 
of the above, if death results from the accident within six 
months of the date of the injury, burial expenses as provided 
in Section 16 (e); following which, compensation to beneficiar­
ies, if any." 

SE'ction 16 (d) provides the amount of compensation which shall be 
paid in case of death. There is no condition or provision in this sec­
tion or in sections 6 (k) or 12 (a) that death must result within six 
months from the time of the happening of the accident, The only 
limitation contained in Sections 6 (k) and 12 (a) is that if death does 
not occur within six months there is no liability for the payruent ot 
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reasonable burial expenses not exceeding $75, but if death o::curs after 
six months compensation shall be !laid in accordance with Section 12 (a) 
above .. 

Respectfully, 
S. C. FORD, 

Attorney General. 

Beaver-License to Trap Beaver-Who Must Secure 
License to Trap Beaver. 

Before any person shall be allowed to hunt for, trap, 
shoot or kill beaver in the state he shall first obtain a special 
license from the State Game Warden and thereafter report 
to said Game Warden as required by the game laws. 

Hon. J. L. DEHart, 
State Grme Warden, 

Helena, Montana. 

Dear Sir: 

Dec. 12th, 1918. 

I am in receipt of your letter of recent date requesting a con­
struction of Sec. 38, Chapt. 173, Laws of the Fifteenth LEgislative As­
s€mbly. The question submitted is: 

"Must a taxpayer or bena fide owner of real estate in this 
state, who wishes to trap beaver upon his own premises or upon 
the right·of-way of his own ditches and trees, secure a special 
license and pay therefor the sum of $10.00?" 
Said section reads as follows: 

"Before any person shall be allowed to so hunt for, trap, 
shoot or kill beaver he shall apply for and receive from the 
S~ate Game Warden, a special license and pay therefor into the 
State Game and Fish Fund, the sum of Ten Dollars. In the 
application for a license the applicant shall state his name, place 
of residence and the county and locality therein where such 
hunting for, trapping, shooting or killing is to be done, which 
facts must be stated in the license issued. 

"It shall hereafter be unlawful to kill beaver within this 
state excq:t as hereinafter provided: 

"Provided that any taxpayer or bona fide owner of real 
. estate in this state, may, upon his own premises, or upon the 
right·of-way of his own ditches and trees, at any time kill or 
cause to be killed beaver when necessary for the protection of 
his dams, irrigating ditches and trees, and to prevent the over­
flowing of water upon his premises. 

"It is further provided, that it shall be the duty of the 
owner of the premises, or his duly authorized agent in charge of 
such premises, when any beaver have been caught or killed, as 
provided in this Act, that the owner or his duly authorized agent 
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