District Court Council - Montana Courts
supreme » boards » limited_court

Enter Title

Commission on Courts of Limited Jurisdiction

The Commission on Courts of Limited Jurisdiction was created by order of the Montana Supreme Court. The Commission identifies educational needs and supervises programs that result in judge certification.

Membership is comprised of six limited jurisdiction court judges, a district court judge, a representative of a city and a county government, the president of the limited jurisdiction court clerks' association, and a member of the State Bar of Montana. Members are appointed by the Supreme Court and serve staggered four-year terms. Members may serve more than one term. The OCA provides staff support to the Commission.

The Commission provides two mandatory education conferences each year for the Judges of the Courts of Limited Jurisdiction. It also provides certification testing every four years and Judges must receive a passing score to remain in office.

Finally, the Commission plans and supervises an annual conference for clerks of limited jurisdiction courts and publishes a clerks' manual.

Committee Meeting Minutes 


Chairman:  Hon. Perry Miller
City Court 
P.O. Box 1266
Chinook, MT  59013
Telephone: 357-2335 
Fax: 357-2361
Email: pmiller@mt.gov
Appt: 6/10/03  Term Exp: 6/30/16   

Vice Chairman:  Hon. Larry Carver
Justice of the Peace 
PO Box 339 
Stanford, MT 59479
Telephone: 566-2277 ext 117 
Fax: 566-2211 
Email: lcarver@mt.gov
Appt: 8/27/08  Term Exp:  6/30/16   

Hon. Heidi Ulbricht 
District Court Judge
920 S. Main 
Kalispell, MT  59901 
Telephone: 758-5660
Fax: 758-5857
Email: hulbricht@mt.gov
Appt: 12/15/15 Term Exp: 12/31/18   

Hon. Steven Fagenstrom 
Justice Court
415 2nd Ave N 
Great Falls, MT  59401
Telephone: 454-6873 
Fax: 454-6877 
Email: Fagenstrom@mt.gov                                               Appt: 1/4/11  Term Exp:  6/30/16 

Hon. Holly Frederickson
Justice/City Court
PO Box 634
Chester, MT 59522
Telephone: 759-5213
Email: hfrederickson@mt.gov
Appt: 02/03/15   Term Exp: 02/28/19

Hon. Bob Wood
Municipal Court
228 Broadway St.
Helena, MT 59601
Telephone: 447-8465
Fax: 447-8265
Email: bwood@ci.helena.mt.us
Appt: 1/30/13   Term Exp:  12/31/16 

Hon. Jessie Connolly
Justice/City Court 
PO Box 1432 
Big Timber, MT  59011 
Telephone: 932-5150
Fax: 932-5433
Email: jconnolly2@mt.gov
Appt: 9/25/13  Term Exp: Upon MMA presidency ending

SUPREME COURT LIAISON
Justice Jim Rice
Justice Building - Room 423
215 North Sanders
Helena, MT 59620 
 

William F. Hooks
Chief Public Defender
44 West Park Street
Butte, MT  59701
Telephone: 496-6082
Fax: 496-6098  
Email: whooks@mt.gov
Appt:  9/18/12
Term Exp: Upon position ending

Prof. Margaret Tonon
State Bar Representative
915 South 3rd St
Hamilton, MT 59840(h)
Telephone: 406-363-1214
Fax: N/A
Email: neyento@montana.com
Appt: 3/7/2000  Term Exp:  6/30/16

Carlin Cameron, President MJC&MCCA
Justice Court Clerk
PO Box 35032
Billings, MT  59107
Telephone: 256-2889
Fax: 256-2898
Email: ccameron@co.yellowstone.mt.gov
Appt: 11/18/14 Term Exp: Upon Clerks’ presidency ending

Bernie Cassidy 
County Attorney
512 California Ave
Libby,  MT  59923
Telephone: 293-2717
Fax: 293-4559
Email: lcatty@libby.org
Appt: 1/4/11  Term Exp: 6/30/18

Charles Harball
Kalispell City Attorney 
PO Box 1997 
Kalispell, MT  59903-1997 
Telephone: 758-7708 
Fax: 758-7979 
Email: charball@kalispell.com
Appt: 03/24/15 Term Exp. 6/30/18

 

STAFF
Beth McLaughlin
Office 841-2966; Fax 841-2955; e-mail bmclaughlin@mt.gov

Shauna Ryan
301 South Park Avenue, Room 328, Helena, MT 59620
Office 841-2967; Fax 841-2955; e-mail shryan@mt.gov


Composed of: one District Judge, one city representative, one county representative, one State Bar representative, one small community City Judge, one large community City Judge,one small community JP, one large community JP, one member at large, the President of the Montana Magistrates Association, and the president of the Montana Justice, City and Municipal Court Clerks Assoc.