District Court Council - Montana Courts
supreme » boards » Montana Supreme Court

Montana Supreme Court

Enter Title

Judicial Nomination Commission
Hal Harper
1608 Gold Rush Avenue
Helena, MT 59601
(406) 443-4411
Appointed by: Governor
Term ending: 1/1/2019
Mona Charles
1420 Lake Blaine Road
Kalispell, MT 59901
Appointed by: Governor
Term ending: 1/1/2016
Richard A. Simonton
207 W. Bell Street
P.O. Box 1249
Glendive, MT 59330-1249
(406) 377-2666
Elected by: District Court Judges
Term ending: 12/31/2017
Lane Larson
1417 Cedar Canyon Road
Billings, MT 59101
(406) 256-6316
Appointed by: Governor
Term ending:01/01/2017
Elizabeth A. Halverson
1631 Zimmerman Trail, Ste. 2
Billings, MT 59102
(406) 294-2020
Appointed by: Supreme Court
Term ending: 01/01/2017
Ryan Rusche
73 Lone Juniper Lane
Columbia Falls, MT 59912
(406) 890-8450
Appointed by: Supreme Court
Term ending: 12/31/2015
Nancy Zadick
1901 Whispering Ridge Drive
Great Falls, MT  59405
(406) 452-6049
Appointed by: Governor
Term ending: 01/01/2018

Term: 4 years

4 - Lay members appointed by governor (non-judicial, non-attorney)
1 - Elected by the district judges
2 - Appointed by the Montana Supreme Court

Composed of: seven members, four lay members from different geographical areas of the state who are appointed by the Governor; two attorneys appointed by the Supreme Court (one from that part of the state that is composed of judicial districts 1 through 5, 9, 11, and 18 through 21; and one from that part of the state that is composed of judicial districts 6 through 8, 10, and 12 through 17); and one district judge who is elected by the district judges. Commission members serve a four-year term and are not eligible for nomination to a judicial office during their term on the commission or for one year thereafter.

Rules of the Judicial Nomination Commission

Eighth Judicial District Judgeship Vacancy
(Cascade County)

  1. Notice of vacancy from Chief Justice
  2. Nomination and appointment schedule
  3. News release soliciting applications
  4. Application
  5. Applications and writing samples
  6. News release soliciting public comment
  7. Public comment:
  8. Minutes: April 29, 2015 conference call
  9. News release: Applicant interviews
  10. Applicant interview schedule: May 18, 2015
  11. Minutes: May 18, 2015 interviews
  12. Certificate and Report to Governor
  13. News release: Commission submits names to Governor