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The Employment Relationship

A. State and federal laws governing the employment relationship parallel one
another, but are not always identical. This outline will attempt to highlight some
areas of Montana law that differ from other state and federal laws, but it is not
exhaustive. Practitioners should always consult case law, the Montana Code
Annotated (MCA), and the Administrative Rules of Montana (A.R.M.).

B. The general rule, based on the idea that the worker is in an inferior
bargaining position, is that the law most favorable to the employee will control
unless federal law has preempted the field, i.e. see Labor Management Relations
Act, 29 U.S.C 8141, et. seq.

C. Basically a contractual relationship, but does not require a writing, i.e.
employer will provide pay and benefits if employee does certain tasks. See 39-2-
101, MCA.
D. Montana law will apply where there is even one employee.
Obligations on both sides are set out in Title 39, MCA.
A. Workforce Drug and Alcohol Act, 39-2-206, through -211, MCA.
1. Unless testing is mandated by another specific law, Montana
employers may only test certain applicants and employees for controlled

substances and alcohol.

2. To be subject to testing, the person must be engaged in
“performance, supervision or management of work in a hazardous work
environment, security position, position affecting public safety or
fiduciary position.” 39-2-206(4), MCA.

3. The employer must have a written testing policy that meets
statutory qualifications. 39-2-207, MCA.

4. There are other procedural requirements.
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B. Montana employers cannot require lie detector tests as a condition of
employment. 39-2-304, MCA.

C. Employer must pay for any medical examinations required as a condition
of employment. 39-2-301, MCA.

D. With some exceptions, employers cannot discriminate based upon use of a
lawful product like alcohol or tobacco during non-working hours. 39-2-313,
MCA.

Termination of Employment

A. The Montana Wrongful Discharge from Employment Act (WDEA),
39-2-901, through -915, MCA.

1. After completion of the employer’s probationary period, an
employee may only be discharged for “good cause” as defined in the
statute, 39-2-903(5), MCA.

a) Note: The WDEA provides for a 6 month probationary
period unless the employer establishes a specific period or has, at
the time of hire, no probationary period. 39-2-904 (2)(b), MCA.

2. Employees may not be discharged, even during the probationary
period, in retaliation for refusing to violate public policy or reporting a
violation of public policy. 39-2-904(a), MCA.

3. A Montana employer may not discharge an employee in violation
of “the express provisions of its own written personnel policy.” 39-2-
904(c), MCA.

a) Handbooks are not contracts under Montana law, but
employers must follow their own policies.

4, There are no longer any common-law causes of action for
discharge. 39-2-913, MCA.

5. A wrongfully discharged employee can recover up to four years
lost wages and fringe benefits, but must mitigate.

a) No damages for pain and suffering, etc.

b) No attorney fees unless losing party has refused an offer to
arbitrate.

(1)  Offer must meet statutory conditions set out in 39-2-
915, MCA.
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V.

A.
(FLSA).

(2)  Offer must be made within 60 days after service of
the complaint.

3) Either party can make offer.

6. WDEA does not apply to situations where the discharged
employee has another legal remedy, including illegal
discrimination cases, and employees covered by a written collective
bargaining agreement or those with a written contract for a specific
term. 39-2-912, MCA.

7. One year statute of limitations on discharge cases. 39-2-
911, MCA.
8. If employer has an appeal procedure, gives it to the

discharged employee within 7 days of discharge, and the employee
fails to use it, the claim is barred. 39-2-911(3), MCA.

B. Other Considerations

1.

Workers’ Compensation

a) Employees cannot be terminated for making a claim. 39-71-
317, MCA.

b) An employee who is released to work has a hiring preference
for two years from the date of injury. 39-71-317, MCA.

Employee cannot be terminated because of garnishment.
Blacklisting is prohibited. 39-2-801, MCA.

a) Blacklisted employees can seek punitive damages and
blacklisting is a misdemeanor.

b) If employee demands reasons for discharge, employer must
furnish them within a reasonable time.

(1)  The demand must advise the employer that its
statements may be used in litigation.

(2) Former employers are allowed to provide a “a truthful
statement of the reasons for discharge.” No other privilege
or protection is given to employers who provide references.

Wages and Hours

Montana’s laws are stricter than the federal Fair Labor Standards Act
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1. State minimum wage exceeds federal minimum wage and is re-
evaluated once a year. 39-3-409, MCA.

2. Exemptions from minimum wage and overtime requirements are
not always the same under Montana law as they are under the FLSA. 39-
3-405, -406, MCA.

3. Montana employers may not credit tips against wages.
B. Methods of payment are state-specific. 39-3-204, MCA.
1. Cannot pay electronically without consent of employee.

2. Must have employee’s written permission for any deductions other
than those mandated by law.

3. Must pay on time and give an itemized statement of deductions.
4, Must pay upon separation unless employer has a written policy that
it will pay on the next regular payday or in 15 days, whichever is sooner.
39-3-205, MCA.
5. Certain employments are limited to 8-hour days. 39-4-101, through
-112, MCA.

C. Everything that is owed to the employee is “wages” including accrued

vacation. 39-3-201(6)(a), MCA.

1. Once vacation is accrued, employers cannot apply a “use it or lose
it” policy.

2. Employers can put conditions on earning or accrual.

D. Montana law does not require employers to provide meal or rest breaks —
paid or unpaid, but:

1. Any break less than 30 minutes must be paid time.

2. Breaks over 30 minutes can be unpaid as long as the worker is
completely relieved of duty.

E. The burden is on the employer to keep accurate records of hours and
wages.

Independent Contractors.

A. True independent contractors are exempt from minimum wage and
overtime laws, as well as workers’ compensation, unemployment, etc.
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VI.

B. If the worker does not have her own fixed business location, she must
apply to the department of labor and industry for certification as an independent
contractor. 39-71-417, MCA.

1. An independent contractor has to prove:

a) She is free from control or direction over the performance of
the work;

b) She is engaged in an independently established trade,
occupation or business;

2. Proof must be a satisfactory form such as business documents, tax
returns, etc.

C. If the department of labor and industry finds that a worker is not really an
independent contractor, that worker is an employee and is entitled to the benefit
of all the labor laws.

D. The burden is on the person employing the worker to make sure she is
really an independent contractor.

Discrimination
A. The Montana Human Rights Act, 49-2-101 MCA, et. seq.
1. Employers may not discriminate “because of race, creed, religion,
color, or national origin or because of age, physical or mental disability,
marital status or sex when the reasonable demands of the position do not
require an age, physical or mental disability, marital status or sex
distinction.” 49-2-303, MCA.
a) Two categories not listed under federal law
(1) creed
(2) marital status
(@)  this includes married, divorced or single
b) Complaint must be filed with the department of labor and
industry within 180 days of last discriminatory act. 49-2-501,
MCA.
C) Must go through the administrative process first.

d) Punitive damages are not available.

2. Retaliation is also prohibited. 49-2-301, MCA.
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3. Supervisors can be held individually liable. 49-2-101(11), MCA.
The Montana Maternity Leave Act, 49-2-310, -311, MCA.
1. Employer cannot terminate an employee because of her pregnancy.

2. Employer must grant a “reasonable leave of absence for the
pregnancy.”

3. May not deny an “employee who is disabled as a result of
pregnancy any compensation to which the employee is entitled as a result
of the accumulation of disability or leave benefits accrued pursuant to
plans maintained by the employer.”

4, Employers may not require a mandatory leave for an “unreasonable
length of time.”

5. Must reinstate the employee at the end of a “pregnancy-related
leave” to her original job or an equivalent position unless circumstances
have so changed that it is impossible.

6. Note: This is the only Montana law similar to the federal Family
and Medical Leave Act (FMLA). There is no mandatory leave for new
fathers (but see discussion of marital status discrimination above.)

VII. Miscellaneous Provisions

A.

Right to Privacy
1. Montana employees have a right to privacy
a) in their employment files, personnel records, lifestyle

b) Neither employer nor employee can record conversations
without the knowledge of the other person. 45-8-213, MCA.

Safe Place to Work, 50-71-201, MCA.

1. Employers must provide safe places to work. This includes
preventing damages to mental health as well as physical harm.

2. Must ”purchase, furnish, and require the use of health and safety
devices, safeguards, protective safety clothing, or other health and safety
items, including but not limited to air masks, hardhats, and protective
gloves, that may be required by state or federal law.”

Clean Indoor Air Act, 50-40-101, et. seq MCA.

1. Smoking is prohibited in workplaces, even if only one worker.
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etc.)

Administrative Hearings (Discrimination, Wages, Unemployment,

1. Corporations must be represented by counsel with authority to
practice in Montana.

2. Even in telephone hearings, employer has burden of providing
admissible evidence. No hearsay.

Unemployment Compensation

1. Findings and decisions of the department may not be used as
admissible evidence in any other proceeding. 39-59-110, MCA.

a) Worker may not use the fact that he was eligible to receive
unemployment compensation as evidence of wrongful discharge.

2. The 2013 Montana Legislature enacted a new detailed definition of
“misconduct” as would disqualify a worker from receiving benefits. 39-
59-201 (19), MCA.

Workers’ Compensation/ Occupational Disease

1. Mental injuries caused by mental distress are not covered by the
workers’ compensation laws.

2. Occupational diseases are covered in the same way as workplace
injuries.

Medical Marijuana, 50-46-320, MCA.

1. Employers do not have to accommodate the use of medical
marijuana in the workplace.

2. Employer can include “in any contract a provision prohibiting the
use of marijuana for a debilitating medical condition.”

3. Employees may not bring a claim against an employer for wrongful
discharge or discrimination because of use of medical marijuana.

Non-compete Agreements
1. Are considered a restraint on trade. 28-2-708, MCA.

a) Cannot completely restrict an employee from practicing his
or her occupation.

2. They must reasonable or they won’t be enforced.
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3. If existing employees are asked to agree, there must be independent
consideration.

VIIl. Traps for the unwary
A. WDEA
1. Probationary period
2. Appeal or grievance procedure
B. Wages
1. Minimum wage

2. Final paycheck

3. Accrued vacation

4. Electronic transfer
C. Drug testing restrictions
D. Discrimination

1. Marital status

2. Maternity Leave Act
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