## SENATE BILL 21

## Introduced by Gage

12/27	Introduced
12/28	Referred to Business & Industry
1/07	First Reading
1/16	Hearing
1/22	Committee ReportBill Not Passed as Amended
1/22	Adverse Committee Report Adopted

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

1	SENATE BILL NO. 21
2	INTRODUCED BY GAGE
3	
4	A BILL FOR AN ACT ENTITLED: "AN ACT REQUIRING THAT THREE OF
5	THE FIVE MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF HORSERACING ARE RACEHORSE
6	OWNERS, BREEDERS, OR OWNER-BREEDERS; REDUCING THE NUMBER OF
7	HORSERACING DISTRICTS TO THREE; PROVIDING FOR TRANSITION;
8	AMENDING SECTION 2-15-1881, MCA; AND PROVIDING AN IMMEDIATE
9	EFFECTIVE DATE."
10	
11	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MONTANA:
12	Section 1. Section 2-15-1881, MCA, is amended to read:
13	"2-15-1881. Board of horseracing. (1) There is a board
14	of horseracing.
15	(2) The board consists of five members appointed by the
16	governor with the consent of the senater. who-shall Members

must be citizens, residents, and qualified electors of this state. No-person-holding-a-financial-interest-in-a-racetrack or--race--meety--member--of--a--county-fair-boardy-or-ownery trainer,--or--breeder--of--a--racehorse--is---eligible---for membership--on--the--board--No A member of the board may not wager at any licensed racing meet in this state. (3) The-governor-may-not-appoint-any-member--who--would

have--a-conflict-of-interest-during-his-term-of-appointment-The governor shall appoint, on the basis of experience and

1	qualifications, one member who is an owner, breeder, or
2	owner-breeder of racehorses, from each of the following
3 .	districts: listed in subsections (3)(a) through (3)(c). The
4	two remaining board members may not be involved in the
5	horseracing industry. A district may not have more than two
6	members on the board. The three districts consist of the
7	following counties:
8	(a) first district, consisting of Blaine, Carter,
9	Custer,-Daniels,-Bawson,-Pallon,-Garfield,-McCone,-Phillips,
10	PowderRiver,Prairie,Richland,Rosebud,Roosevelt,
11	Sheridan,Preasure,Valley,andWibaux Beaverhead, Deer
12	Lodge, Flathead, Granite, Lake, Lincoln, Mineral, Missoula,

Blaine, Cascade, Chouteau, Daniels, Dawson, Fergus, Garfield, Glacier, Hill, Golden-Valley, Judith Basin, Lewis

(b) second district, consisting of Big-Horn,-Carbon,

Powell, Ravalli, Sanders, and Silver Bow Counties;

17 and Clark, Liberty, McCone, Musselshell, Petroleum, Sweet Grass; -- Stillwater; -- Wheatland; -- and -- Yellowstone Phillips,

19 Pondera, Prairie, Richland, Roosevelt, Sheridan, Teton,

20 Toole, Valley, and Wibaux Counties; and

13

14

15

16

21 (c) third district, consisting of Cascade, -Chouteau, 22

Glaciery-Hilly-bibertyy-Ponderay-Tetony-and-Toole Big Horn, 23

Broadwater, Carbon, Carter, Custer, Fallon, Gallatin, Golden 24 Valley, Jefferson, Madison, Meagher, Musselshell, Park,

25 Powder River, Rosebud, Stillwater, Sweet Grass, Treasure,

- Wheatland, and Yellowstone Counties;.
- 2 (d)--fourth---districty---consisting---of----Beaverhead;
- 3 Broadwater; -- Beer -- bodge; -- Gallatin; -- Jefferson; -- bewis--and
- 4 Charky-Madisony-Meaghery-Parky-and-Silver-Bow-Counties; and
- 5 (e)--fifth--districty--consisting--of-Platheady-Granitey
- 6 bake;--bincoln;--Missoula;--Mineral;--Powell;--Ravalli;--and
- 7 Sanders-Counties:

1

- 8 (4) Each member shall serve for a staggered term of 3
- 9 years. A member may be removed from office by the governor
- 10 only for cause.
- 11 (5) A board member may succeed himself upon
- 12 reappointment by the governor. A vacancy on the board must
- 13 be filled for the unexpired term by appointment by the
- 14 governor, with the consent of the senate, as provided in
- 15 this section.
- 16 (6) The board is allocated to the department for
- 17 administrative purposes only as prescribed in 2-15-121."
- 18 NEW SECTION. Section 2. Transition. To provide for an
- 19 orderly transition in complying with the new board
- 20 membership requirements and redistricting, the governor
- 21 shall appoint members to the board who are in compliance
- 22 with the new board membership requirements and
- 23 representative of the new districts to replace present board
- 24 members as their terms expire.
- 25 NEW SECTION. Section 3. Effective date. [This act] is

effective on passage and approval.

-End-