Commission on Courts of Limited Jurisdition

The Commission on Courts of Limited Jurisdiction was created by order of the Montana Supreme Court. The Commission identifies educational needs and supervises programs that result in judge certification.

Membership is comprised of six limited jurisdiction court judges, a district court judge, a representative of a city and a county government, the president of the limited jurisdiction court clerks' association, and a member of the State Bar of Montana. Members are appointed by the Supreme Court and serve staggered four-year terms. Members may serve more than one term. The OCA provides staff support to the Commission.

The Commission provides two mandatory education conferences each year for the Judges of the Courts of Limited Jurisdiction. It also provides certification testing every four years and Judges must receive a passing score to remain in office.

Finally, the Commission plans and supervises an annual conference for clerks of limited jurisdiction courts and publishes a clerks' manual.

The Commission is composed of: one District Judge, one city representative, one county representative, one State Bar representative, one small community City Judge, one large community City Judge, one small community Justice of the Peace, one large community Justice of the Peace, one member at large, the President of the Montana Magistrates Association, and the president of the Montana Justice, City and Municipal Court Clerks Association.

Chair: Vice Chairman:
Hon. Perry Miller
P.O. Box 1266
Chinook, MT 59103
Term Date - 6/30/20
Representing: City Court
Hon. Larry Carver
P.O. Box 339
Stanford, MT 59479
Term Date - 6/30/20
Representing: Justice of the Peace
MaryAnn Ries
20 4th Ave SW, Ste 315
Conrad, MT 59425
Term Date - 6/30/2018
Representing: County Attorney
Hon. Jessie Connolly
P.O. Box 1432
Big Timber, MT 59011
Term Date - when presidency ends
Representing: Montana Magistrates Association (President)
Hon. Steven Fagenstrom
415 2nd Ave. N.
Great Falls, MT 59401
Term Date - 6/30/2020
Representing: Justice Court
Hon. Holly Frederickson
P.O. Box 161
Chester, MT 59522
Term Date - 2/28/2019
Representing: Justice/City Court
Charles Harball
P.O. Box 1997
Kalispell, MT 59903
Term Date - 6/30/2018
Representing: Kalispell City Attorney
Peter Ohman
502 South 19th Ave, Ste 306
Bozeman, MT 59718
Term Date - upon position ending
Representing: Office of the State Public Defender
Tina Reinicke
435 Ryman St.
Missoula, MT 59802
Term Date - upon presidency ending
Representing: MJC & MCCA (President)
Margaret Tonon
915 S. 3rd St.
Hamilton, MT 59840
Term Date - 6/30/2020
Representing: State Bar Representative
Hon. Heidi Ulbricht
920 S. Main, Ste 310
Kalispell, MT 59901
Term Date - 12/31/2018
Representing: District Court Judge
Hon. Robert Wood
228 Broadway St.
Helena, MT 59601
Term Date - 12/31/2020
Representing: Municipal Court
Supreme Court Liaison: Staff:
Justice Jim Rice
P.O. Box 203001
Helena, MT 59620-3001
Term Date -
Representing: Supreme Court Liaison
Shauna Ryan
301 S. Park Ave., Room 328
Helena, MT 59620